Databases, Information Resources, National Offices and Standards
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2013
Browse through patents by category, or search either basic and advanced.
The German Patent and Trademark Office’s DEPATISnet contains patent data from approximately 90 countries and regional patent offices, making it comparable to the Espacenet system. Search interfaces in German and English are available.
Espacenet contains more than 70 million patent documents from approximately 90 countries and regional patent offices, plus more than 2 million non-patent literature references. Year coverage varies by country. Espacenet’s machine translation application, created by the EPO and Google, will translate text between English and 13 other languages, including Chinese, French, German and Spanish. The Espacenet search interface is available in a variety of languages. It also provides access to the INPADOC Legal Status and Patent Family information, and provides a Common Citation Document.
- Espacenet. Common Citation Document
The Common Citation Document (CCD) system is a new citation search tool that combines prior art cited in EP, JP and US patent documents, which can be retrieved by patent number, into a single easy-to-read page.
Text searching of US & EP patents and applications, WO/PCT, Jpn Abstracts & Medline. PDF copies
- Google (U.S. and EP) Patent Search
Poorly OCR'd text and classification searching of US and EP patents and published applications. Excellent PDF copies.
- Patent Fetcher
Free PDF copies of USPTO documents.
- Patent Lens
Search over 10M patent documents from US, Europe, Australia and WIPO, or search over 80M DNA and protein sequences in patents.
- Patent Watch
A weekly analysis of a specific (organic) chemistry patent from 50 active patent-issuing authorities worldwide.
- PatentScope (WIPO)
Full-text searching of published PCT applications and 14 million patent documents from more than 30 countries. The most recent additions are the collections of the EPO, Japan, and Russia (including the USSR).
Full-text cross-collection searching of US patents and applications, EP & WO/PCT documents, & Jpn abstracts. PDF copies
Structure/Substructure searching of US & EP patents and applications, WO/PCT, Jpn Abstracts & Medline. PDF copies
- USPTO. Patent Assignment Database
Changes of ownership of U.S. Patents from 1980 to the present) can be found in the USPTO’s patent assignment database.
- USPTO. Patent Database
Full text patent searching 1976+; Patent number searching 1790+;
PatFT, which contains full-text patents from 1976 forward and images of patent documents from 1790 to the present, and AppFT, which contains full-text published plant and utility applications from 2001 to the present.
- USPTO. Index to the USPC
The Index to the USPC is an alphabetical list of technical and common terms/trade names and their corresponding classes or subclasses.
- STN Patent Cluster
Over 40 patent databases including: World Patent Index (Derwent) 1963+, IFI (U.S.) Patent Database 1950+, USPATOLD (OCR Full Text 1790-1975), INPADOCDB / INPAFAMDB
- Bing Translator (free)
- Espacenet Translation Services (free)
- Google Translate (free)
Translated Search (>50 languages), Translator Toolkit, Tools and Resources.
Online searching, document delivery, patent analysis, file histories, or professional search assistance.
- Patent Fetcher
$0.65 charge for PDF copies from esp@cenet.
Specializing in English translations of Japanese, German and French documents.
Machine Translations for Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Russian, German and French patents
- Ralph McElroy Translations
Translations in all languages and most fields.
- rising sun communications
English translations of Japanese/Chinese Chemical, Pharmaceutical and Medical patents.
- SDL | freeTranslation.com (free)
- ACS - What every chemist should know about patents, 3d ed., 2002
A brief overview of patents not meant to replace legal advice.
- ACS - What every chemist should know about patents, Supplement 2006
- CAS - Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC)
- CAS - How to read patent information in SciFinder
Explanations of bibliographic and family data.
- CAS - Markush Searching
A generalized formula or description for a related set of chemical compounds, used in patent applications.
- CAS - Patent Coverage
Patents are selected from over 23,000 IPC and U.S. National Patent Classification Codes.
- CAS - Patent databases on STN
Table of patent files listed by country coverage and database, including content highlights.
- CAS - Searching a Japanese patent/publication number
Detailed explanation of 'year of the emperor' numbering.
A worldwide database with over 70M records.
- International Classifications
International Patent Classification (IPC), Nice, Locarno & Vienna Classifications.
- Patent Alert
A free e-mail service providing periodic updates about inventions recently patented in the U.S.
- Patent Information Users Group (PIUG)
Newsletter, conferences, etc.
- Patent Tutorial (UT Austin)
Patent Searching, Patent Statistics, Patent Application Searching, Patents & Trademarks.
- Patent Watch
A source of chemical and related information for the research community
The WIPO database
- Resource Finder
"...displays search systems, databases, publications, and websites grouped by technology area."
Since 1907, has indexed over 3M chemical, biochemical & chemical engineering patents , from ~60 patent authorities (including the Eurasian Patent Organization (EAPO) since 2007, and recently added U.S. ‘chemical’ patents (1808 to 1906).
- USPC/IPC Reverse Concordance
In the Reverse Concordance, entries are grouped by IPC notation, but do not contain entries for every IPC code, nor all related US codes.
- USPTO Patents Search Templates
"Search templates define the field of search, search tools, and search methodologies which should be considered each time a patent application is examined in that classification area. The templates describe search tools for U.S. and foreign patents and non-patent literature. Additionally, general Internet search tools used by patent examiners are listed."
- USPTO. Scientific and Technical Information Center (STIC)
Comprehensive listing of links to Process, classification, forms, statistics, laws, resources, etc
- ASTM Digital Library - Standards
An index to ASTM's ~12,000 standards
- IEEE Standards
Browse, search & download ~1,200 IEEE Standards
A commercial service that lists over 50K codes & standards from: ASCE, ASHRAE, ASTM, AWWA, ASME, ICC, IEEE (see: IEEExplore), NFPA, state codes, etc.
Techstreet is a commercial source for PDF copies of worldwide industry codes and standards.
"...a free searchable trademark database that covers US registered trademarks from 1881 to present."
- Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)
"...searching of existing (USPTO) trademark application and registration information."
"...a free online trademark search portal ... searches more than 6 million trademarked logos, names, and slogans on the Internet."
Millikan Library, 8th floor, 1-32
Pasadena, CA 91125-4000
dzrlib AT library.caltech.edu