Library: Crystallography Resources @ Caltech: Inorganic

Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD)

The ICSD is a comprehensive collection of crystal structure data for solid state inorganic compounds, such as simple salts, silicates, oxides, etc. It contains more than 160,000 entries and covers the literature from 1915 to the present. Search options include empirical formula, ANX formula, mineral names, crystal data, and other standard bibliographic fields.

The structure viewer requires Java and JMol.

Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD)

Mineralogy-Specific Resources

American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
Includes every structure published in the major mineralogy journals. Search by mineral, author, element names, cell parameters, etc. Here's a description from the journal.
Mineral Spectroscopy Server
information about color in minerals and access to data on Mineral Absorption Spectra in the visible and infrared regions of the spectrum and Raman spectra of minerals
Mineralogy Database (David Barthelmy)
Contains descriptions of ~5000 individual mineral species with links and a comprehensive image library. Each mineral page is linked to crystallography, crystal structures, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, Strunz classification, mineral specimen images, and alphabetical listings of mineral species. There also are extensive links to other external sources of mineral data and information, and data here comes from Amercian Minerologist and the RRUFF Project.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Section 4: Properties of the Elements and Inorganic Compounds has a table for x-ray crystallographic data on about 400 common minerals, as well as selected crystalline elements, including crystal system, structure type, Z number, and cell lengths & angles.

The RRUFF Mineral Spectra Database
Open Access. The RRUFF™ Project is creating a complete set of high quality spectral data, including Raman and X-ray, from well characterized minerals and is developing the technology to share this information with the world.

Bilbao Crystallographic Server

Bilbao Crystallographic Server

Crystallography Open Database

Crystallography Open Database

Database of Zeolite Structures

Database of Zeolite Structures
The database of the Structure Commission of the International Zeolite Association provides structural information on all zeolite structure types. This includes crystallographic data and drawings drawings for all zeolite framework types, simulated powder patterns for representative materials and relevant references

Solid-State Phase Diagrams

ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center
Database of -35,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase, crystal density/melting point data (alloys and pure elements). Binary searches also retrieve ternary listings.

ACerS-NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams (Check availability of laptop)
Available at SFL on (Windows) Laptop #1 only
Database with commentaries and diagrams for non-organic systems, including those published in all 21 hard-copy volumes produced as part of the ACerS-NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams Program (formerly titled Phase Diagrams for Ceramists): Volumes I through XIV ("blue books"); Annuals 91, 92, 93; High Tc Superconductors I & II; Zirconium & Zirconia Systems; and Electronic Ceramics I.

Crystallography Resources @ Caltech: Inorganic

On This Page: