This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry  

Last Updated: May 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.caltech.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Biographies

Chemcial Compound Databases

  • Aldrich Catalog
    Basic physical property data with spectra from the Aldrich Library of NMR and IR ...
  • Brenda: The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
    BRENDA is a freely available collection of enzyme functional data. Search with EC Number; Enzyme Name; Organism; Protein; Full Text. Advanced Search also offers: cofactors; metals/ions; organic solvent stability; etc.
  • Cambridge Structural Database
    The CSD is a repository of small molecule crystal structures that only provides bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds.
  • Chemistry Databases on the Web
    A classified listing of web based databases: General; 2D Structure Searchable; Specific Classes of Compounds; Drug-Related Databases; Disease-Related Databases; Physical Properties, Spectra; Toxicity and Environmental Databases; Biomolecule Databases; Metabolic Pathways
  • ChemNetBase
    ChemNetBase includes the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics; Combined Chemical Dictionary; the individual components of the CCD; and Polymers: A Property Database.
  • ChemSpider
    ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
  • DIPPR
    Ask a librarian for the login/password. DIPPR contains both experimental data and temperature-dependent properties for over 1,800 pure chemicals.
  • IDES; The Plastics Web
    Free basic membership allows searching for ~60K products by namewith datasheet and supplier access.
  • Kaye & Laby Tables of Physical & Chemical Constants
    The entire, unedited contents of the 16th edition (1995), containing tables of data, formulae, graphs and charts. Topics from fundamental constants to fibre optics, superconductivity to Raman spectroscopy, etc. Contents will be regularly reviewed and updated at the (UK) National Physical Laboratory.
  • Landolt-Börnstein Substance / Property Index
    "160 000 organic and inorganic compounds are described by names, molecular structures, chemical abstract numbers and other identifiers."
  • Mathematica Chemistry
    "Mathematica includes thousands of built-in functions for computation, modeling, visualization, development, and deployment." ... including Chemical Data, Element Data, Lattice Data, Isotope Data and Sample Demonstrations.
  • Periodic Table
    A periodic table with links to descriptions, physical properties and recent literature references. Each element's page has a listing of related commercial compounds with links to descriptive pages.
  • PubChem
    PubChem provides substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data for small molecules in three primary databases, PCsubstance, PCcompound, and PCbioassay. Click Help for a full explanation,
  • SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts Service)
    A listing of SciFinder's databases with comments on content. 'What You Can Find' lists Content Areas with annotations describing available information.

Dictionaries/Glossaries

Hazardous Chemicals/Reactions

  • Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards (CLAS Record)
    Extensive listing of both hazardous chemical and reactions.
  • Chemical Safety Manual (Caltech CCE)
    Safety plan, requirements, training, specifics.
  • Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
    Toxicology and related data for over 5000 potentially hazardous chemicals ... referenced from the published literature.
  • Inert Finder
    Chemicals approved for use as inert ingredients in pesticide products. Searchable by chemical name or CAS Registry Number. Search results provide applicable use limitations and will flag inert ingredients for which companies have asserted data compensation rights. Links to the Code of Federal Regulations for food use inert ingredients. The system does NOT include information about ingredients in individual pesticide products.
  • SIRI MSDS Index
    The freely available SIRI MSDS archive's "objective is to make critical safety information as immediately and universally accessible as possible." There is also a listing of manufacturers with URL links.
  • TOXNET
    Links to a variety of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Physical Property Data

  • Covalent Radii and van der Waals Radii
    Tables (sorted by name, symbol, period, and group) of the chemical elements with symbol; period; group; block; At. No.; At. Weight; covalent radium and van der Waals radius.
  • Data & Property Calculation Websites
    Listings of both Data Sites, Calculation/Program Download Sites, Organizations, and a brief bibliography.
  • DIPPR
    Ask a librarian for the login/password. DIPPR contains experimental data and temperature-dependent properties for over 1,800 pure chemicals. The PROPERTY search tab allows searching for a physical property within a defined range of values.
  • Finding Chemical Spectra and Spectral Data: Web Sources
    A comprehensive listing of web resources, general print sources and a description of Sadtler Spectra collections. These are followed by a listing of specific print resources, a guide to searching the literature and the Electromagnetic Spectrum. UT-Austin
  • Finding Physical and Chemical Properties
    A handy listing of physical properties in both print and web resources ... with links. Vanderbilt University
  • Handbook of Chemistry and Physics  
      
    The interface for the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is split into three sections: Table of Contents Window (left-hand window), Menu (upper window), and Data & Information Window (central window). A search can be more specific by using multiple parameters. For instance, you can draw a chemical structure and combine this with other physical data or data ranges.
  • Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data
    A listing of standard reference sources along with a comprehensive index of properties ans substances that are linked to both print (with World Cat links) and web resources. Arizona State University
  • Knovel Critical Tables
    Interactive tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties.
  • Materials Property Locator Database
    An index to reference books containing property data (mechanical, physical, electrical, thermal, etc.) for various types of materials. Click the Index of Terms to select a property and/or a type of material. Univ. Buffalo
  • MatWeb: Material Property Data
    Data sheets for over 85,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, chemical elements, and composites. Search - Physical Properties (category + property ranges), Alloy Composition (category + property ranges) or Material Type, Manufacturer Name, Trade Name, Metal UNS Number
  • NIST Data Gateway
    lLnks to selected online NIST databases (both free and those available for purchase). Search with keywords, properties or substances, or link to a list of free NIST databases, with descriptions. Search for JPCRD journal articles by title, author, year published, keyword or substance.
  • Physical Properties Sources Index (PPSI)
    A comprehensive index of physico-chemical and other material properties in both web and print resources. ETH Zurich
  • PolyInfo
    Polymer properties, structures, names, processing, andmethods. ~100 types of properties including thermal, electrical and mechanical are range searchable.
  • Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)
    Knovel has converted over 900 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers into a full-text searchable electronic format.
  • Spectra & Spectral Data
    A guide to references sources grouped by spectra type or by compound type. Univ. Buffalo
  • Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
    SDBS includes electron impact mass spectra (EI-MS), Fourier transform infrared spectra (FT-IR), 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectra, 13C NMR spectrum, laser Raman spectra, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectra. Searchable with compound names or spectral peaks.
  • Springer Materials to Landolt-Bornstein
    "A handout with instructions on using SpringerMaterials to locate chemical and physical property data, and how to use the information in SpringerMaterials to obtain the chapter in Landolt-Börnstein (New Series)." UCSD
  • Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants (Kaye & Laby)
    A free online version of the 16th edition (1995). Contents include units & fundamental constants, general physics, chemistry, atomic and nuclear physics, engineering data, statistical methods, lab safety and quality assurance. A table of contents display is supplemented with a search engine.
  • ThermoDex An Index of Selected Thermodynamic and Physical Property Resources
    ThermoDex contains annotated bibliographic records that describe compilations of thermodynamic and physical property data for chemical compounds and other substances. Entering both a property and type of compound provides a list of handbooks that might contain these data. UT-Austin
  • WolframAlpha
    Provides "dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods." Recently updated information on solution chemistry (e.g. miscibility, concentration calculations)

SciFinder / CAS

  • 365: chemistry for Life
    ACS Celebrates IYC 2011
  • CAplus Core Journal Coverage List
    Bibliographic information and abstracts for all articles in more than 1,500 key scientific journals are added to CAplus within 7 days. The list is sorted alphabetically by the full journal title and also includes the journal abbreviation, CODEN, and publication frequency.
  • CAS Registry Number and Substance Counts
    Latest counts for CASReg, CASReact, CHEMList, CHEMcats.
  • CAS Science Connections
    CAS - Science Connections showcases the value of CAS databases in light of important general-interest science and technology news and highlights, CAS database enhancements and editorial milestones.
  • CAS Standard Abbreviations & Acronyms
    Contains the abbreviations and acronyms that are automatically generated for terms in the abstract text, the keyword phrases, and the text modifying phrases for index entries in the SciFinder/CAplus database.
  • CAS Statistical Summary
    Publication record, Sources (by country), Language, Registry.
  • CASSI - CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
    A listing of journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications. Searchable by Title, Abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN, with a limit of 50 answers per search.
  • Common Chemistry
    Contains freely available CAS Registry file information for ~8K general interest chemicals and 118 chemical elements. Searchable with chemical names, synonyms or CAS RN. Provides basic data and Wikipedia link (if available).
  • SciFinder 2007
    SciFinder is a database that provides abstracts of articles and patents on the chemical aspects of astronomy, biology, education, engineering, economics, geology, history, mathematics, medicine, and physics. CAplus, CAregistry, CASreact, patents, regulations, commercial availability.

Societies, Organizations, Libraries

Textbooks

  • UC Davis Chemwiki
    ChemWiki is a Open Access supplementary textbook that is written and re-written by both students and faculty members and is directed by Prof. Delmar Larsen. A freely available account is required to edit the site modules.
  • Wired Chemist
    Provides students and professionals with instructional information ... with tabs to chemistry, mineralogy, environmental and NMR, which are further subdivided into instructional, data and links.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip