Skip to main content
Caltech Library logo

Citation Management

Sunsetting EndNote Support

The Caltech Library is sunsetting the EndNote desktop subscription when the license expires on September 25, 2017. Downloads will no longer be available from the IMSS software site after that date. The Library will provide a perpetual and transferrable licensed copy of EndNote X7 or X8 to all Caltech Faculty EndNote users and their associated research groups. EndNote Web will remain available for at least a year after the end of our Desktop Client license. Additionally, any user may purchase discounted copies of EndNote from online sellers -- see below for more information.

The Caltech Library is pleased to be launching the Zotero reference management system beginning fall 2017. Zotero is a well-established open source tool with powerful features that EndNote does not have, including seamless integration with the Overleaf platform, which many Caltech authors now use for writing and publishing. You may find more information about Zotero and download the software at no charge from https://www.zotero.org/.

Please let us know at library@caltech.edu if you would like a demo of Zotero. The Library will begin offering Zotero classes in August 2017, both on request and in scheduled workshops. Additional information about the transition will be forthcoming over the summer.

Library staff are available to help Caltech EndNote users migrate their libraries and associated EndNote files to their own copy of EndNote or to Zotero. Please email your help request to library@caltech.edu and a live librarian will be in touch to offer assistance. We even make house calls!

To export an EndNote library for use in Zotero:
 
  1. In EndNote, select the citations you want to export and then go to File > Export.

  2. Set the output style to "RefMan (RIS) Export" and save as a .txt file.

  3. In Zotero, go to File > Import.

  4. Double-click the "RefMan (RIS) Export" file that was exported from EndNote.

  5. Citations are added to a Zotero collection sharing the same name as the .txt file (in most cases "My EndNote Library").

To export an EndNote library including PDF attachments for use in Zotero:

  1. In EndNote, select the citations you want to export and then go to File > Export; a dialog box will pop up asking you where to save the export file.
  2. Navigate to your EndNote data directory (typically, My Documents\endnote.Data); this directory contains a 'PDF' folder, but you should be sure to select the data directory rather than any sub-directory; this is important: Zotero will look for file attachments in a directory relative to the RIS file you are exporting now. If this file is located in the wrong place during import into Zotero, file attachments will not be imported.

  3. Set the output style to "RefMan (RIS) Export" and save as a .txt file; if you want to export a subset of your library and have selected specific items to export, check the “Export Selected References” box; otherwise, make sure it is unchecked.

  4. In Zotero, go to File > Import.

  5. Double-click the "RefMan (RIS) Export" file that was exported from EndNote.

  6. Citations are added to a Zotero collection sharing the same name as the .txt file (in most cases "My EndNote Library").

 

Related Links

From EndNote to Zotero in 3 Steps

How to Import Your EndNote Library to Zotero (YouTube video)

How do I import records from EndNote?