This guide contains subscription databases and freely available resources available to Caltech students, faculty and staff.
- ACM Digital Library
ACM periodicals & magazines: most titles from volume 1
ACM proceedings, ACM SIG conference proceedings 1991+, in some cases 1985+.
Open access to thousands of e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
- ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center
Explore, search and view more than 28,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase and crystal data for more than 6200 systems.
- Cambridge Structural Database (CCDC)
The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) contains structural information on over 330,000 carbon containing molecules (<1000 atoms) and over 366,000 structures, including organics, compounds of main group elements, organometallics and metal complexes. There is a small overlap between the CSD and the Inorganic Crystal Structure Database, in the area of molecular inorganics. See also WebCSD
Encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesis; Systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic chemistry. Covers both classical reagents and the new 'designer' reagents
- Encyclopaedia Britannica
Covers the North American geology from 1785+ and world geology from 1933+; includes references to U.S. Geological Survey publications, theses & doctoral dissertations, books, maps, reports, as well as literature from more than 3,500 journals
The ICSD (Inorganic Crystal Structure Database) is a searchable database of ~120,000 inorganic structures, including elements, compounds, minerals, and intermetallics. Display options include Unit Cell Visualization and Powder Patterns.
- IEEE Xplore
Provides fulltext access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines since 1988 (with some content back to 1952), conference proceedings since 1988 (with some content back to 1952), IEEE Standards and IEE journals, letters, magazines, and conference proceedings since 1988. See their Self-paced Tutorials
Electronic fulltext archive of academic journals in many fields
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- MLA Bibliography
Modern Language Association International Bibliography
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica
A collection of medieval historical sources; many of the principal primary documents for the study of medieval Europe.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The most comprehensive and exhaustive English language dictionary
1950+ biomedical and related index and abstracts; PubMed's advantages include links to molecular structure, DNA sequence, and protein sequence databases, and direct links to some full-text journal articles. For information on medical journal articles and books (1880-1961), see IndexCat.
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. It is based on Beilstein, Gmelin and an "Organic" Patent Database (US 1976+ and EP, WO 1978+)
- Safari Books Online
Full-text access to ebook titles by O'Reilly and other publishers on many programming languages and technologies. Please let us know
if there are titles we should add.
Chemical Abstracts Service's databases including Chemical Abstracts, CAS Registry file, CASREACT (organic/organometallic reactions), patents, and chemical suppliers
- Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIsearch), 1945+
Social Science Citation Index, 1956+
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1994+
Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI), 1990+
OCLC Online Union Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide, as well as articles and conference proceedings.