Tutorials
- Guide to Understanding Financial Statements
- How to Read a Prospectus
- Virtual Chase: Company Information Guide Intended as a site to assist persons in the legal profession perform business research, this is another good site for links to company information and guide to doing Legal Research.
Company Rankings
The standard publications covering business rankings and market share information can be consulted at Pasadena Public Library or CSU Pomona University Library. They include:
Business Rankings Annual
Market Share Reporter
Standard & Poors Industry Surveys
Search databases in the Articles tab using “Market Share” as a descriptor and the name of the industry or company:
Company example - descriptor: market share and keyword: CDnow
Industry example - descriptor: market share and keyword: coffee
Some company ranking information can also be found at Hoover’s Online
Best Companies...
- 100 Best Companies to Work For Fortune's annual list
- Working Mother 100 Best Companies
General Company Info
- LexisNexis Find company financial information, patent information, news and legal information by selecting the "Business" button under Search.
- CorporateInformation.com Free corporate profiles on 31,000 global companies.
- Directory of Corporate Archives in the United States and Canada Archives This site provides a listing and contact information for companies that maintain their own historical records, or use consulting firms to maintain their archive collection.
- Disclosure Corporate Snapshots (1986+) Available through Caltech's FirstSearch databases subscription. Contains information about U.S. publicly traded companies. Updated Weekly.
- Forbes Lists Forbes annual listing of companies.
- Hoovers Provides free brief descriptions of 2,500 companies including annual sales, CEO, CFO etc. as well as links to several major news wires such as PR Newswire. Additional information available for purchase.
- IW1000 This free site provides data on the world's 1,000 largest publicly-held manufacturing companies, based on revenue. The list provides the company name, a link to a short company profile, and its ranking for the current and previous year.
- Kompass Access basic information (contact information, trade names) for companies worldwide. More detailed information requires a paid subscription.
- ThomasNet - CNC Machining, Metal Stamping, Gaskets, Fasteners and other industrial products and services. Find manufacturers, products and services.
- Wetfeet: Employers Find overviews of companies from this employment website.
- Disclosure Find contact information, ticker symbols, and SIC codes for publically traded companies.
- General Business File ASAP Find company contact information, SIC codes, and officers, as well as news articles about a company.
- LLRX: Business Filings Database List State by state links to public records databases. For example, California's Business Portal offers online searchable databases of corporate, limited partnership and LLC records. Includes information about private companies.
Financial Information
- AnnualReports.com Provides free access to annual reports for many companies.
- The Public Register's Annual Report Service - PRARS PRARS provides annual reports for many US companies.
- Yahoo! Finance Find financial information (including annual reports) for public companies.
- SEC Filings & Forms (EDGAR) Publicly traded companies in the United States are required by law to submit information (10-K’s and 10-Q’s filed annually and quarterly respectively) to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
Mergers and Acquisitions
- TheDeal.com Most of their content is available to subscribers only, but some of the articles are free.
Analyst Reports
These reports are often very expensive, however, sometimes summaries and abstracts can provide useful insights. And occasionally, firms may share the Executive Summary free.
My Profile |
Kristin Buxton![]() |
Contact Info:
Sherman Fairchild Library, 1st floor
626-395-3410
kbuxton AT library.caltech.edu
Subjects:
Engineering
I'm currently reading:
Outcasts United by Warren St. John
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait