Useful Books
- Encyclopedia of Associations
Contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields. Of particular interest to business researchers is the existence of newsletters, trade journals and statistical publications. Trade associations often have valuable/unique information about their industry that may not be available elsewhere. - Research Centers Directory
This directory describes over 12,000 non-profit research organizations in universities, foundations and other settings covering the full spectrum of disciplines form the sciences to the social and cultural studies. In addition to a Subject Index, there is a Geographic and Personal name index. The Master index combines research center name, acronyms and principal keywords within the center name.
Business Ethics
- Business Ethics A great librarian site on business ethics
Opinion Polls
- Harris Poll Library Public opinion survey data on various topics: politics, economy, healthcare, foreign affairs, science and technology, sports and entertainment, lifestyles, etc. The library contains the full text of articles from the Harris Poll weekly column back to 1998
Countries
- Country Commercial Guides Detailed business guides on countries around the globe.
U.S. Government
- Department of Commerce
- USA.gov One-stop access to over 30 million pages of information from the U.S. government.
- Government Manual A directory of all branches, executive agencies, departments of the U.S. Government. Contains contact information in the form of names, telephone numbers and website addresses.
- Government Public Records This page contains links to state, county, and city offices that have made their public records available at no charge on the Web.
- Government Information Caltech Library's links to government information
- Congressional Directory A guide to members of Congress, their aides, and employees of the Capitol.
- Congressional Staff Directory This book lists names, job titles and phone numbers for all the legislative personnel in Congress. Business researchers will find certain listed organizations especially useful – for instance the Office of Technology Assessment.
- Federal regulatory directory This book provides a comprehensive overview of federal regulation in the United States.
- How to Find Business Intelligence in Washington A little dated but useful for locating federal agencies which collect business-related data.
- U.S. Government Manual Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.
- Washington Information Directory Published annually and covers both government and non-government organizations on a topical arrangement with a brief description of each. Included are listings of executive agencies, consumer groups, major trade associations, labor unions, etc.
International Organizations
- Organization for Economic Development and Cooperation (OECD)
- Chamber of Commerce.com Resource Directory Find addresses, phone/fax numbers and websites for Chamber of Commerce, Economic Development Organizations, Convention and Visitor's Bureaus offices around the world.
Analyst Reports
These reports are often very expensive, however, sometimes summaries and abstracts can provide useful insights. And occasionally, firms may share the Executive Summary free.
My Profile |
Kristin BuxtonOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Sherman Fairchild Library, 1st floor
626-395-3410
kbuxton AT library.caltech.edu
Subjects:
Engineering
I'm currently reading:
Outcasts United by Warren St. John
![]() |
Contact Info:
Sherman Fairchild Library, 1st floor
626-395-3410
kbuxton AT library.caltech.edu
Subjects:
Engineering
I'm currently reading:
Outcasts United by Warren St. John
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait