Library: Geological &amp; Planetary Sciences (GPS): Maps & Mapping

GPS Library Map Room

The Map Room is located next to the GPS Library at 207 N. Mudd. (Access requires the GPS Division key).

Please contact us to make an appointment if you are from a non-GPS Division.

The Map Room houses geologic and topographic maps of California, Arizona, and Nevada. We also have the Dibblee collection of geologic maps.

We also have the CA Division of Mines and Geology (CDMG) and USGS Open-File Reports, as well as hundreds of QG-Series, I-Series, and MF-Series maps from the USGS.

Other maps of various locations around the United States and the world are also housed here. With the exception of the topographic maps, most of the items are cataloged and searchable in our catalog.

We have an HP large-scale printer for your convenience in the TechHub. You can submit large-scale prints (maximum of 36 in. width). The cost is $8.00 per linear foot. Please visit this link to for more information and to submit print jobs.

Interactive Map of Caltech GPS-division Theses

https://maps.library.caltech.edu/

This map shows the coordinates of content in CaltechDATA associated with theses from the Caltech Division of Geological and Planetary Science. Data included from historic theses are supplemental pocket contents such as maps and drawings.

Scrolling inside the map will zoom and dragging will move the map. Click on any point or bounding box to see the original item in CaltechDATA.

Send us an email and we can get your thesis on the map.

Google Earth

Google Earth is a powerful application that provides search capabilities and the ability to pan, zoom, rotate, and tilt the view of the Earth. It also offers tools for creating new data layers. However, it's not a Geographic Information System (GIS).

It is free and available to download for Windows, macOS and Linux systems. Google Earth for Web is a browser-based version and Google Earth on mobile is an app.

Additional Google Earth applications include:

Earth Studio - an animation tool for Google Earth's satellite and 3d Imagery.
Earth Engine - combines a multi-petabyte catalog of satellite imagery and geospatial datasets with planetary-scale analysis capabilities and makes it available for scientists, researchers, and developers to detect change, map trends, and quantify differences on the Earth's Surface.
Earth VR - Explore the world from totally new perspectives. Stroll the streets of Tokyo, soar over Yosemite, or teleport across the globe.

Tutorials:

Google Earth Studio - Tutorials
Become a Google Mapping Expert - Make maps with Google Earth & Google Maps with these step-by-step tutorials
Google Earth - User Guide - An excellent tutorial from the Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College (SERC)

Citing Maps and other cartographic resources

Cartographic citations: a style guide
This 1992 edition from the Map and Geography Round Table (MAGIRT) of the American Library Association is available in print. MAGIRT had published an updated (2010) edition, but that edition no longer appears to be available for purchase.
How to Reference Geospatial Data, Maps, Atlases, Air photos
Handy pdf guide from Brock University Map, Data, and GIS Library.
Maps and Atlases
North Carolina State University Libraries has an excellent LibGuide on citing maps.
MLA Style Center

USGS Resources

Astrogeology Maps
Interactive web-based versions of planetary maps.
Geographic Names Information System
U.S. Board on Geographic Names.
Geologic Maps of all U.S. States
Digital geologic maps of the US states with consistent lithology, age, GIS database structure, and format.
Historical Topographic Map Explorer
The LivingAtlas is a collaboration between USGS and Esri to bring the ever-increasing collection of US historical topographic maps to everyone through the USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer.
Maps from USGS
MapView
USGS site for finding geologic maps.
National Geologic Map Database
Includes MapView, TopoView, and Stratigraphy. You can also use the Catalog search.
National Geologic Map Database - Geolex Search
The U.S. Geologic Names Lexicon ("Geolex"), a National compilation of names and descriptions of geologic units.
National Map Viewer
Publications Warehouse
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 170,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
Store - Map Locator
You can purchase print copies of maps here.
Topographic Map Symbols
TopoBuilder
Build a USGS-style topographic map with choice of format, area of interest, and contour smoothness--all free and sent to you via email immediately.
TopoView
All scales and most editions of USGS topographic maps are available online via Topoview (National Geologic Map Database). Great for current and historical topographic maps.
US Topo - The National Map

Online Map Resources

Bureau of Land Management
Many different types of interactive maps where you can add multiple layers.
CalTopo
Powerful trip planning tools and high quality maps. USGS and USFS topos, aerial imagery, printing to geospatial PDFs, exporting to KMZ and MBTiles.
Canadian Topographic Maps
Topographic maps of Canada are available for purchase from this site. Many other map-related products are also available for purchase.
Colorado School of Mines Links
The Colorado School of Mines has many useful links on maps, mapping, and many other topics.
Commission of the Geological Map of the World
The Commission of the Geological Map of the World is an international non-profit organization governed by the French law of 1901. It is responsible for the design, coordination, preparation and publication of small-scale geoscience maps of the global Earth, continents, oceans and major regions of the globe.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania.
Lithological Map Viewer
Interactive globe of world geology.
Mapa Digital de Mexico
National Geographic Free Printable USGS Topo Maps
North American Environmental Atlas
The North American Environmental Atlas combines and harmonizes geospatial data from Canada, Mexico and the United States to allow for a continental and regional perspective on environmental issues that cross boundaries.
Online Guide to U.S. Map Collections
The Online Guide to U.S. Map Collections is a directory of map collections, big and small, across the United States.
OpenGeoSci
OpenGeoSci is a free, map-based discovery interface providing geographic searching for more than 300,000 maps, cross-sections, charts, tables, and other high-value content from GeoScienceWorld (GSW) publications.
Scanned World Maps
From the Colorado School of Mines, this is an index to scanned copies of paper, topographic maps. The footprints for the maps were created using ArcGIS for Desktop using the fishnet tool, and data supplied by the maps themselves, as well as other institutions.
Topozone
More USGS-based topographic maps.
University of Texas Topographic Maps Indexing
The University of Texas at Austin has a very well-indexed listing of topographic maps, both United States and globally.
US Map Collection
This is the one of the largest US map collections available for the United States of America. It consists of a state-by-state collection of 5 types of maps: reference maps, lakes and rivers maps, county maps, landmarks maps, and satellite maps.

Online Map Resources - California

California Current Regional Geologic Map Series (1981-Present)
In an effort to keep the maps current, the CGS has been compiling a new series of Regional Geologic Maps (RGM), starting in 1981. The new maps cover the same areas as the older Geologic Atlas of California, but show more detail and use geologic formations rather than the simplified geologic time-based units.
California Department of Conservation - Publications
CGS produces many types of products for use by the public as well as scientists. Geologic maps, reports, seismic data, and more are available for download and purchase.
California Geological Survey (CGS) - Information Warehouse
There is a great interface for finding many kinds of maps and reports, including Seismic Hazard Zone reports, Landslides, Mineral Lands Classification, Tsunami Hazard Areas, and more. Currently, you have to request the file by inputting your email address, but it arrives within minutes.
California Native American Ancestral Lands
Also shows protected lands in an interactive map.
California Preliminary Regional Geologic Maps
Preliminary 30-by-60 Minute Quadrangles (1:100,000 scale); and Preliminary 7.5 Minute Quadrangles (1:24,000 scale)
California (Historical) Geologic Atlas
The Geologic Atlas of California was published between 1958 and 1969.
California Historic Topographic Map Collection: CSU Chico, Meriam Library
CSU Chico, has sets of 15' USGS topographic maps made between the 1880s through the 1940s.
California Maps
California Maps from the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas, Austin.
Dibblee Geologic Maps
Dibblee geologic maps, in .pdf and .tif format, are available for purchase from the AAPG store.
Earthquake Zones of Required Investigation
Interactive zone maps from the California Geological Survey for fault rupture, liquefaction and seismic landslide hazards in California.
Fault Activity Map of California
From the California Geological Survey
Geologic Map of California
The 2010 Geologic Map of California and the Fault Activity Map of California were prepared in recognition of the California Geological Survey’s 150th Anniversary. Both are all-digital products built on the original compilations of C.W. Jennings published in 1977 and 1994. The digital version of the Jennings (1977) geologic map was released in 2000 (Saucedo and others, 2000).
Geologic Map of California (interactive site)
This is the interactive site for the Geologic Map of California.
Tom Harrison Outdoor Maps
Publishes full-color topographic maps for hiking, backpacking, and mountain biking in parks, forests, and wilderness areas in California. Available for purchase.