This is the "EndNote" page of the "EndNote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote   Tags: bibliographies, endnote, software  

Information on getting started with EndNote at Caltech
Last Updated: Nov 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.caltech.edu/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

EndNote Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Training Classes

Online training provided free by EndNote staff

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Google Scholar

Want to add items from Google Scholar to your EndNote library? 

Change one setting and "Import into EndNote" will be added to each item in Google Scholar.  Visit Scholar Preferences and in the Bibliography Manager section select "Show links to export citations into" and choose EndNote from the drop-down menu.  Click "Save Preferences" and you're done.  Next time you search on Google Scholar, you'll see EndNote as an option.

 

Find Full Text

EndNote has added a feature (available in X3 and newer) to help you find the full-text of the articles in your library and attach them to the appropriate reference.  Simply select the articles you're interested in and choose References->Find Full Text->Find Full Text. 

Do not select a large number and try to look them all up at once.  If too many of the articles are from the same publisher they will think you're trying to download an excessive number of articles, which violates our license agreement, and will notify us and either block your IP or block access for the entire campus.

The Find Full Text feature won't find every article.  You can increase the percentage by setting up EndNote to use the Caltech Connect window you're used to from article databases.

Set it up:

  1. Under the Edit menu, select Preferences, and then the Find Full Text option.
  2. Check the box labelled "OpenURL"
  3. Paste the following URL into the "OpenURL Path" box: http://sfx.caltech.edu:8088/caltech/
  4. Under the Edit menu, select Preferences and then URLs & Links.
  5. In the OpenURL Arguments box, change ISI:WOS to ISI:SFX but leave the rest of the text alone.

Use it:

  1. Select the reference you're interested in.
  2. Go to the References menu, and choose URL, then OpenURL Link.
  3. Use the Caltech Connect window as usual.
 

Finding Library Books

If you want to add books from the Caltech Library into your EndNote library, your best option is to perform your search on Worldcat, find the right edition, and click Cite/Export and then the Export to EndNote link.

 

Find Full Text Off-Campus

If you want to use the feature to have EndNote try to locate full-text versions for you and you're off-campus, you'll want to use a new feature in version X3 or newer that lets you specify Caltech's proxy server. 

Under the EndNote Prefereces, on the Find Full Text screen locate the Authenticate with section and put http://clsproxy.library.caltech.edu/login in the URL field.  Then before using References->Find Full Text click on References->Find Full Text->Authenticate and enter your access.caltech username and password.  This should allow EndNote to find text for more of your references.

 

EndNote tools in Word

If your EndNote tools go missing in Word, follow these instructions to get them back.

For EndNote X4, X5 and X6 and Word 2010 on Windows:

The simplest way to get the tools to appear in Word 2010 is to run the "Repair" function by selecting EndNote X6 in the "Programs and Features" in the Windows Control Panel. Choose "Change" then select "Repair". Click Next on each of these screens until the process finishes. Quit and restart all Office applications and check for the tools in Word


For EndNote X4, X5 and X6 and Word 2011 on Macintosh:

The simplest way to get the tools to appear is to open EndNote, and go to the EndNote menu. Select "Customizer" from the EndNote menu. Check the box in front of the "Cite While You Write" option. Click next until the Customizer is finished. Open a library. Then open Word and check the Tools menu for the EndNote submenu.

If you're not running Word 2010 or 2011, or these instructions don't work for you, please search the EndNote FAQ for proper instructions for your version (they don't allow linking to the answers) and for alternate methods.

 

EndNote and Mathematica

If you're using EndNote X4 or newer and Mathematica 8 you can create citations in Mathematica (in addition to the previously supported Microsoft Word, Pages, and OpenOffice Writer).

More information on Citation Management in Mathematica 8.

Note:  be sure to convert your sell to Text Display or the citation options won't be available.

 

Problems with matching citations

If you are using brackets regularly in your Word documents (e.g. for mathematical of scientific formulas) you may find that EndNote tries to format the content within them as references, as it understands brackets to signify in-text citations. You may be prompted by persistent messages asking you to choose a reference to add in these brackets.  This has also happened for some people with parentheses in their documents.

If this happens, we recommend that you change the symbols (known in the program as temporary citation delimiters) which EndNote understands to signify in-text citations. To do this open EndNote and go to Edit > Preferences > Temporary Citations .  Change the temporary citation delimiters from curly brackets (or other brackets) to two different symbols which you are unlikely to use in your document (e.g. £ and $). Click on Apply > OK. You should find that this stops EndNote from trying to format content in brackets incorrectly. Your in-text citations will continue to display in the brackets as dictated by your chosen referencing style as normal.

 

Getting EndNote

Anyone with an access.Caltech (formerly IMSS) account can download EndNote for free from the IMSS software page. It's available for Windows and Macintosh.

The current version is X7 for Windows and Macintosh. 

There is also an Endnote client for iPad (which is not included in our site license).

EndNote Tutorials

Tutorials created at other institutions. Please ask if you have questions about how to adapt them to Caltech.

 

Exporting from Web of Science

To export records from Web of Science, simply click the EndNote button.  Some Macs will save the exported file instead of opening it directly into EndNote.  If your Web of Science export results in a saved .ciw file, simply go to EndNote, click File->Import, select the .ciw file and choose "ISI-CE" as the Import Option.

 

Exporting from PubMed

If you want to export directly from PubMed:

  1. Perform your search in PubMed and select the citations to import.
  2. Click the "Send to:" link and select "Citation Manger" and then click "Create File".
  3. If you're running EndNote X6, this should import directly into EndNote.  If you need to pick an application, select "ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper".
  4. If you're using an older version of Endnote, save the file generated by Pubmed, then open your EndNote library and select File->Import.
    1. Browse for and select the file you saved from PubMed.
    2. Under Import Option choose "PubMed (NLM)".  If this doesn't appear on your list select "Other Filters" and then select "PubMed (NLM)" on this longer list.
    3. Click the Import button.
 

Exporting from SciFinder

In SciFinder Web check the boxes next to the articles you want to export, then click the Export link.  Select Citation export format ($.ris) and click Export.  You will then be prompted to open that file with the ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper (on Windows) or EndNote (on Mac).

 

Exporting from GeoRef

In GeoRef, click the checkboxes next to the records you're interested it and then click "Export/Save".  Select "ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager" and then the "Continue" button on the overlay box. If you block pop-up windows in your browser, you will need to either allow the pop-up each time or add an exception for proquest.com.

You will then be prompted to open the .RIS file with the ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper (on Windows) or EndNote (on Mac)

Exporting from other databases

 

Generating BibTeX files from EndNote

The EndNote field 'Label' will be used as the cite key for BibTeX, so be sure that each reference has a unique value in the 'Label' field.  (If that field is blank, no cite key will be generated in the BibTeX file).

Choose the references you wish to export.  Go to File->Export, Select "Text File" in the "Save as type" field, and select 'Bib TeX Export" in the Output Style field.

 

Online Search function within EndNote

EndNote provides a feature that lets you search for articles within PubMed, Web of Science and other databases from within Endnote.  There are two things to keep in mind if you want to use this search:

  1. Be care what mode you're using.  Look for the buttons in the upper left corner:  
    • The icon on the left is the default:  Integrated Library & Online Search Mode.  If you do an Online Search in this mode, all results will be added into your EndNote library without any sort of preview.  You'll need to remove any that you don't want. 
    • The icon in the middle is Local Library Mode.  No Online Search is available in this mode.
    • The icon on the right is for Online Search Mode.  Your search results in this mode are saved to a temporary library.  Then select the ones you want and copy them to your normal library
  2. Our access to databases is through IP address recognition rather than through usernames and passwords, so most of the databases shown in Online Search mode won't work, even if they're databases we subscribe to. The only ones that will definitely work are Web of Science, PubMed, and the Library of Congress.
  3. For at least some records searching for them via Web of Science within EndNote will result in mis-ordered authors. The corresponding author will be put first regardless of the order of the records in the article itself. I'd recommend searching via the Web of Science website and exporting into EndNote instead.
 

Saving references from the web

EndNote Web comes with two tools to let you save web references to your library. A bookmarklet and a firefox plugin are both available

Both can be configured to save to either EndNote Web or EndNote, but please note, if you use the bookmarklet to save to EndNote the bookmarklet will show you are saving a reference of type "Web Page" but when it is imported into EndNote it will show up as a "Journal Article" instead. You'll need to change the reference type. This problem doesn't happen if you save to EndNote Web.
 

Patents

If you'd like to add Patents to your EndNote library, the one patent search site that exports them properly is Free Patents Online.

Once you've found your patent, click the link "Click for automatic bibliography generation" and then follow the on-screen instructions to import the patent information into EndNote. It only imports the metadata describing the patent, not the full text of the patent. You'll need to download the PDF separately and attach it to the reference.

My Profile

Profile Image
Kristin Buxton
Contact Info
Sherman Fairchild Library, 3rd floor
626-395-3410
kbuxton AT library.caltech.edu
Subjects:
Engineering
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip