Library: Business Resources: Companies and Industries

Tutorials

How to Read a Prospectus
PrivCo Private Company Knowledge Bank
Comprehensive financial terms dictionary with over 398 finance and investment definitions.

General Company Info

Kompass
Access basic information (contact information, trade names) for companies worldwide. More detailed information requires a paid subscription.
Directory of Corporate Archives in the United States and Canada
This site provides a listing and contact information for companies that maintain their own historical records, or use consulting firms to maintain their archive collection.

Financial Information

AnnualReports.com
Provides free access to annual reports for many companies.
Yahoo! Finance
Find financial information (including annual reports) for public companies.
SEC Filings & Forms (EDGAR)
Publicly traded companies in the United States are required by law to submit information (10-K’s and 10-Q’s filed annually and quarterly respectively) to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Company Rankings

Search databases in the Articles tab using “Market Share” as a descriptor and the name of the industry or company:

Company example - descriptor: market share and keyword: CDnow

Industry example - descriptor: market share and keyword: coffee

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS pronounced Nakes) is a unique, all-new system for classifying business establishments. Adopted in 1997 to replace the old Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system, it is the industry classification system used by the statistical agencies of the United States.

General Information

Country Commercial Guides
Maintained by the U.S. International Trade Administration. Reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared at U.S. Embassies worldwide by Commerce Department, State Department and other U.S. agencies.
Business & Industry Statistics
Produced by the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes links to the Annual Survey of Manufactures and Census of Manufactures reports covering manufacturing industries, defined as mechanical or chemical transformation of materials into new products
Industry Economic Accounts
Produced by the Bureau of Economic Analysis. The Industry Economics Division's Information Guide is a convenient way of accessing BEA materials on gross domestic product by industry and more.