Library: Geological &amp; Planetary Sciences (GPS): Gems & Mineralogy

GPS Rock & Mineral Collections

The GPS Division operates and maintains the Rock & Mineral Collections Database. To access the database, sign in as a guest.

It currently contains information on more than 30,000 minerals, rocks and meteorites. This database contains the following collections:

GPS Mineral Museum display minerals (Gem Room)
Meteorite Collection
Mineral Reference Collection
Rock Collection
Thesis Rock Collections
Working Mineral Collection for classroom and teaching use

NOTE: This database is not maintained by the Library, please contact the GPS Division if you have any questions regarding this database or any of its contents.

Mineral Data and Resources

IMA Database of Mineral Properties
IMA Database of Mineral Properties, created and maintained by the RRUFF Project in partnership with the IMA.
Mindat.org
Now the world's largest public database of mineral information. Also has an extensive photo search.
Mineral Identification Key
From the Mineralogical Society of America.
Mineral Spectroscopy Server
Mineralogy at Caltech, maintained by the GPS Division.
Mineral Resources from the USGS
Mineral resource occurrences, assessments, deposits of specific types and operation and prospecting.
Mineralogy Database
Each mineral has a page linked to tables devoted to crystallography, crystal structures, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, Strunz classification, mineral specimen images, and alphabetical listings of mineral species.
Palagems
Pala International is home to some of the planet’s finest gems, precious stones and mineral specimens.
Palaminerals
Pala International has consistently earned its reputation as the direct source for the finest colored stones.
RRUFF Project
RRUFF Project website containing an integrated database of Raman spectra, X-ray diffraction and chemistry data for minerals.

Selected Journals in Gems, Minerals, and Mineralogy

American Mineralogist
Volume 1 (1916) - present
Gems and Gemology
Volume 41 (2005) - present
Journal of Gemmology
Volume 1 (1947) - Volume 36 (2018)
Print (Volume 37, 2019+) copies in Geology Library, Room D (Section 17)
Minerals
Volume 1 (2011) - present. Open-access.
Mineralogical Magazine
Volume 61 (1997) - present
Mineralogical Record
Print (Volume 1, 1970+) copies in Geology Library, Room E (Section 22)

Open Access Publications from the Mineralogical Society of America

MSA Open Access Publications
Current open-access titles from the Mineralogical Society of America (MSA). MSA will host additional open access publications about mineralogy, crystallography, petrology, and geochemistry that it believes to be of interest.