Skip to main content
Caltech Library logo

CODA: Linking to your publications

The Caltech Collection of Open Digital Archives (CODA): the Institute's collections of faculty research publications and other content supporting the mission of the Institute.

Linking to your publications

Divisional websites that have been built by Caltech's IMSS or EAS Communications Office are already designed to incorporate CaltechAUTHORS content into faculty bibliographies.  Contact your web manager to discuss your options.

There are several options, listed below, that are currently available to link to your publications from your personal web pages.

  • Embed scripts into one of your web pages to enable uploading an up-to-date bibliography from a specific CODA repository.  You can build code to embed in your website using our automated widget or customize javascript to build custom lists of content .
  • Use an RSS feed if you want information on all new additions to a collection. New additions for a person or group can be followed using the link at feeds.library.caltech.edu.
  • Use Shelves to create custom lists of items in CaltechAUTHORS to highlight chosen content. 
    • Javascript coding for Shelves allows you to create customized lists for retrieval into your web page.
  • Add simple links into your web pages.
  • Use one or more of the Library Feeds.  The feeds can be generated in several different formats to suit your preferences. We are also creating new ones as interest and needs arise, so please let us know if you don't find what you need.

If you have any questions, or have suggestions for enhancing our service in this particular area, please do not hesitate to contact us.

JavaScript Samples

To be able to make this work for you, your browser must have Javascript enabled

Widget Method - new (Juy 2019)

Caltech Library has developed a widget that allows you to interactively generate the HTML, CSS and JavaScript so you can include library content in your webpage. It needs to know whether you are interested in publications from groups and people. Groups is a curated list of Caltech
groups (mostly research groups). People is a curated list of Caltech related individuals including faculty, researchers and alumni. If you or your group is not listed, email library@caltech.edu for possible inclusion.

The widget shows what repository content types are available for that group or individual. If you are missing content, email library@caltech.edu for assistance contributing content to our repositories. The widget also provides a fixed set of options to control what data is displayed. You can customize the CSS provided by the widget to make the appearance of listings match your website.

We also provide a JavaScript library to provide custom aggregations of data from our repositories. There are many examples including customizing the appearance of listings. We also show how you can use this library to build a custom publications list and exclude certain
publications
.

Manual Scripts - Samples

  • Sample scripts are provided below for retrieving content data within the CaltechAUTHORS, CaltechTHESIS and CaltechCampusPubs collections.
    • Each script retrieves a bibliographical list of resources held in the specific collection that fit the search parameters of the script, and adds that list to your web page. 
    • Please be aware that the list will only retrieve what is contained within the collection.  If you have items missing from the resulting list, contact the library for help in completing your holdings.
  • “Shelves” allow Caltech-affiliated individuals to create unique collections of items from within CaltechAUTHORS. 
    • These can be used to highly individualized groups or collections of materials for their own use.
  • Before being able to use any of these scripts on your web page, you will need to change part of the "id=" portion of the script to fit your needs. 
    • The "id" can be found by browsing or searching the specific collection you want to use. 
    • Use the portion of the result URL that comes right before the ending ".html" to replace the equivalent portion of the script following the “id=”.
  • Your web pages will update with the latest content lists every time you open them.
  • The generated bibliographical list that is embedded in your web page includes CSS coding normally found in lists generated by CODA repositories and that affects the display of the text. 

Copy-paste the complete script, <script … /script> in CODE VIEW mode into the section of your web page where you want the bibliographical list to appear.  Be sure you have modified as needed the portion of the script following the “id=”. 

CaltechAUTHORS:

CaltechTHESIS:

CaltechCampusPubs:

Shelves

Caltech users can now create custom lists of items in CaltechAUTHORS, and thus highlight chosen content in a bibliographical format. 

A simple web link can always be used, but when a Javascript is added to the user’s web page, the content of a Shelf is then directly imported into the web page every time it is opened for viewing. This allows for easier and more dynamic updating of the web page, and helps to eliminate the time-consuming effort of updating a web page’s bibliographical content. 

More items (both newer and older) are always being added to CaltechAUTHORS.  If your desired material is not available in the database, please contact us so we can work together to being CaltechAUTHORS up-to-date!

If you have any questions, or have suggestions for enhancing our service in this particular area, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Please note: You must be logged into CaltechAUTHORS to create and manipulate Shelves.

The generated bibliographical list that is embedded in your web page includes CSS coding that affects the display of the text. The CSS documentation includes the CSS coding that you can add to your web page or site as needed, and modify to suit your preferences.

JavaScript sample for CaltechAUTHORS by Shelves

Copy-paste the complete script, <script … /script> in CODE VIEW mode into the section of your web page where you want the bibliographical list to appear.  Be sure you have modified as needed the portion of the script following the “id=”. 

 

RSS Feeds

RSS feeds

You may add RSS or ATOM feeds to your own email, to web pages, etc.  The home page's feed link can be used if you want information on all new additions to a collection.  New additions for a person, group, or other topic can be followed using the RSS feed link in a browse or search results page.

Web Links

You may add add links to search strings for an author, advisor, publication title, grant number, etc.  These links will take you to the specific CODA repository collection's search results' page. Once you've retrieved the results page you want to use, simply copy-paste the url from the address bar in your browser into your web page. 

Librarian

Kathy Johnson's picture
Kathy Johnson
Contact:
Sherman Fairchild Library 1-43
Rm. 324
(626) 395-6065