Biology / Medicine (2020-10-26)
The cognitive neurosciences, 6th edition (Poeppel, Mangun, & Gazzaniga, 2020)
The sixth edition of The Cognitive Neurosciences continues to chart new directions in the study of the biological underpinnings of complex cognition—the relationship between the structural and physiological mechanisms of the nervous system and the psychological reality of the mind. It offers entirely new material, reflecting recent advances in the field, covering the latest research, experimental approaches, and measurement methodologies.
Case studies in neural data analysis: a guide for the practicing neuroscientist (Kramer & Eden, 2016)
As neural data becomes increasingly complex, neuroscientists now require skills in computer programming, statistics, and data analysis. This book teaches practical neural data analysis techniques by presenting example datasets and developing techniques and tools for analyzing them. Each chapter begins with a specific example of neural data, which motivates mathematical and statistical analysis methods that are then applied to the data. This practical, hands-on approach is unique among data analysis textbooks and guides, and equips the reader with the tools necessary for real-world neural data analysis.
Computational methods in protein evolution (Sikosek, 2019)
This volume presents a diverse collection of methodologies used to study various problems at the protein sequence and structure level. The chapters in this book look at issues ranging from broad concepts like protein space to specifics like antibody modeling. Topics include point mutations, gene duplication, de novo emergence of new genes, pairwise correlated mutations, ancestral protein reconstruction, homology modelling, protein stability and dynamics, and protein-protein interactions. The book also covers a wide range of computational approaches, including sequence and structure alignments, phylogenies, physics-based and mathematical approaches, machine learning, and more.
Introduction to genetic analysis, 12th ed. (Griffiths, Doebley, and Peichel, 2019)
This textbook aims to show students how to analyze experimental data and draw their own conclusions based on scientific thinking while teaching students how to think like geneticists.
Extracellular recording approaches (Sillitoe, 2018)
This volume presents techniques and recently developments in extracellular recording. The chapters in this book explore topics such as mouse, rat and zebrafish models; extracellular recordings on human cognition; single-unit recordings and multi-electrode arrays; and recordings in perinatal and early developing mice.
Human physiology, 1st ed. (Derrickson, 2017)
The 1st edition of Human Physiology supports students’ understanding of core physiological concepts while building the critical thinking skills that will prepare them for success in their future careers.
Chemistry / Biochemistry (2020-09-14)
Cellular automata: a discrete view of the world (Schiff, 2008) [ebook]
This book offers an introduction to cellular automata as a constructive method for modeling complex systems where patterns of self-organization arising from simple rules are revealed in phenomena that exist across a wide array of subject areas, including mathematics, physics, economics, and the social sciences.
Crystal structure analysis: a primer (Pickworth Glusker & Trueblood, 2010) [ebook]
This book aims to explain how and why the detailed three-dimensional architecture of molecules can be determined by an analysis of the diffraction patterns obtained when X rays or neutrons are scattered by the atoms in single crystals.
Biogeochemical cycles: ecological drivers and environmental impact (Dontsova, Balogh-Brunstad, & Le Roux, 2020) [eBook]
This book is a collection of the latest information on the techniques and methods currently used in this field, focusing on biological and/or ecological effects of biogeochemical elemental cycles including carbon, nitrogen, major and trace elements, chemical weathering on multiple scales of nanometers to watersheds, and advances in technology of studying these processes.
Atmospheric multiphase chemistry: fundamentals of secondary aerosol formation (Akimot & Hirokawa, 2020) [eBook]
Atmospheric Multiphase Reaction Chemistry provides the information and knowledge of multiphase chemical processes and offers a review of the fundamentals on gas-liquid equilibrium, gas phase reactions, bulk aqueous phase reactions, and gas-particle interface reactions related to formation of secondary aerosols.
Fundamentals of crystallography, 3rd ed. (Giacovazzo, 2011) [eBook]
The book describes both the theoretical bases and applications of different areas interacting with crystallography. The main text is devoted to the presentation of basics; the appendices deal with specialist aspects. In this third edition, topics have been updated so as to document the present state of the art, and emphasis is placed upon areas of current research.
Peptides: chemistry and biology, 2nd ed. (Sewald and Jakubke, 2009) [eBook]
The authors explain the broad fundamentals of peptide synthesis and structure, systematically addressing important families of biologically active peptides, and adopting an interdisciplinary approach that covers application areas in biotechnology, pharmaceutical science, and biomedicine.
Recent trends in carbohydrate chemistry. Volume 1 and Volume 2 (Rauter, 2020) [eBook]
These volumes cover green and sustainable reactions, organometallic carbohydrate chemistry, synthesis of glycomimetics, multicomponent reactions, and chemical transformations leading to molecular diversity based on carbohydrates.
Molecular descriptors for chemoinformatics (Todeschini & Consonni, 2009) [eBook]
Volume 1 contains an alphabetical listing of more than 3300 descriptors and related terms for chemoinformatic analysis of chemical compound properties, while the second volume lists over 6,000 references selected from 450 journals.
Engineering / Materials (2020-02-03)
Neuromorphic photonics (Prucnal & Shastri, 2017) [eBook]
This book sets out to build bridges between the domains of photonic device physics and neural networks, providing a comprehensive overview of the emerging field of "neuromorphic photonics." It includes a thorough discussion of evolution of neuromorphic photonics from the advent of fiber-optic neurons to today’s state-of-the-art integrated laser neurons, which are a current focus of international research. Neuromorphic Photonics explores candidate interconnection architectures and devices for integrated neuromorphic networks, along with key functionality such as learning.
Advances in biofeedstocks and biofuels Vol. 1: Biofeedstocks and their processing (Singh and Chaudhary, 2016) [Ebook]
Advances in biofeedstocks and biofuels Vol. 2: Production technologies for biofuels (Singh and Chaudhary, 2017) [Ebook]
Volume 1 is a collection of papers from some of the world’s foremost authorities on biofeedstocks and biofuels, covering biofeedstocks and how they are processed. Volume 2 focuses on the production of biofuel, covering all of the major biofuels, such as biodiesel, biohydrogen, bioethanol, and others.
Computational modeling of tensegrity structures: art, nature, mechanical and biological systems (Gan, 2020)
This book provides an in-depth, numerical investigation of tensegrity systems from a structural point of view, using the laws of fundamental mechanics for general pin-jointed systems with self-stressed mechanisms. In Computational Modeling of Tensegrity Structures, Professor Buntara examines these formations, integrating perspectives from mechanics, robotics, and biology, emphasizing investigation of tensegrity structures for both inherent behaviors and their apparent ubiquity in nature. The author offers numerous examples and illustrative applications presented in detail and with relevant MATLAB codes.
Bioinspired actuators and sensors (Taya et al., 2016) [Ebook]
Beginning with detailed descriptions of actuation and sensing mechanisms in plants and animals, the authors move on to apply these principles to synthetic design, offering in-depth knowledge of the development of state-of-the-art smart materials and devices. All of this is supported with a range of real-world applications, from tactile sensory systems in insects linked with the development of robotic hands, to the structural colour systems in nature used to inspire camouflage technology. Further examples are given of successful designs along with their integrated autonomous systems, such as flying and swimming, unmanned systems, and autonomous zero-energy building design.
Professional Development (2021-04-12)
The scientific attitude: defending science from denial, fraud, and pseudoscience (McIntyre, 2019) [Ebook]
In this book, Lee McIntyre argues that what distinguishes science from its rivals is what he calls “the scientific attitude”—caring about evidence and being willing to change theories on the basis of new evidence. The history of science is littered with theories that were scientific but turned out to be wrong; the scientific attitude reveals why even a failed theory can help us to understand what is special about science.
The science of diversity (Weissmark, 2020) [Ebook]
Reveals the theories, principles, and paradigms that illuminate people’s understanding of the issues surrounding human diversity, social equality, and justice.
Super courses: the future of teaching and learning (Bain, 2021) [Ebook]
Education expert and bestselling author Ken Bain tells the fascinating story of enterprising college, graduate school, and high school teachers who are using evidence-based approaches to spark deeper levels of learning, critical thinking, and creativity—whether teaching online, in class, or in the field.
Using focus groups to listen, learn, and lead in higher education (Danner, 2018) [Ebook]
Presents an easy-to-use 6-step guide to help leaders in higher education listen to and learn from their stakeholders in order to enhance decision making. The big questions facing institutions today--especially those surrounding access, affordability, and accountability--require more than dashboards. Metrics and quantitative data alone do not offer lasting solutions and improvements. Using qualitative methods to listen to the voices of those involved, especially students and staff, is critical. Focus groups constitute the most appropriate, rigorous, and relevant qualitative research tool for this purpose, and one that is cost-effective and builds community when conducted using the ODU Method described in this book.
Case studies on diversity and social justice education, 2nd Ed. (Gorski and Pothini, 2018) [Ebook]
Offers pre- and in-service educators an opportunity to analyze and reflect upon a variety of realistic case studies related to educational equity and social justice. The accessibly written cases allow educators to practice the process of considering a range of contextual factors, checking their own biases, and making immediate- and longer-term decisions about how to create and sustain equitable learning environments for all students. This revised edition adds ten new cases to offer greater coverage of elementary education, as well as topics such as body-shaming, Black Lives Matter, and transgender oppression. Existing cases have been updated to reflect new societal contexts, and streamlined for ease-of-use.
How to Be an Inclusive Leader: your Role in Creating Cultures of Belonging Where Everyone Can Thrive (Brown, 2019) [Ebook]
We know why diversity is important, but how do we drive real change at work? Diversity and inclusion expert Jennifer Brown provides a step-by-step guide for the personal and emotional journey we must undertake to create an inclusive workplace where everyone can thrive.
Promoting inclusive classroom dynamics in higher education [electronic resource] : a research-based pedagogical guide for faculty (Oleson, 2021) [Ebook]
This powerful, practical resource helps faculty create an inclusive dynamic in their classrooms, so that all students are set up to succeed. Grounded in research and theory (including educational psychology, scholarship of teaching and learning, intergroup dialogue, and social justice theory), this book provides practical solutions to help faculty create an inclusive learning environment in which all students can thrive. Each chapter focuses on palpable ideas and adaptive strategies to use right away when teaching.
Voices for diversity and social justice: a literary education anthology (Landsman et al., 2015) [Ebook]
An unflinching exploration through poetry, prose, and art of the heart of our educational system - of the segregation, bias, and oppression that are part of the daily lives of so many students and educators. It is also a series of poetical insights into the fights for liberation and resistance at the heart of many of the same students' and teachers' lives.
Building an inclusive organization : leveraging the power of a diverse workforce (Frost and Alidina, 2019)
A practical guide to creating an environment of real inclusion. It explains how to remove unconscious bias from company processes including recruitment and selection, how to make the case for diversity and inclusion to all stakeholders and how to embed inclusion into an organization's culture and overall business strategy.
Broadening participation in STEM: effective methods, practices, and programs (Wilson-Kennedy et al., 2019) [Ebook]
Features chapters from developers of high impact educational practices and programs that have been effective at broadening the participation of underrepresented groups in the STEM disciplines. It explores strategies used with special populations of STEM aspirants including minority groups such as African Americans, Latino Americans, and Native Americans; persons from economically disadvantaged background; and persons with disabilities. This volume contributes to national knowledge of best practices in educating underrepresented students aspiring to STEM careers. This book provides campus-based faculty, administrators, and diversity professionals with a guide that can be used to develop programs designed to address specific student success and inclusion goals in STEM programs.
A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research and Academic Writing (Shoja et al., 2020) [Ebook]
Features ten sections composed of seventy-four chapters that cover: qualities of research scientists; career satisfaction and its determinants; publishing in academic medicine; assessing a researcher’s scientific productivity and scholarly impact; manners in academics; communication skills; essence of collaborative research; dealing with manipulative people; writing and scientific misconduct: ethical and legal aspects; plagiarism; research regulations, proposals, grants, and practice; publication and resources; tips on writing every type of paper and report; and much more.
Writing science : how to write papers that get cited and proposals that get funded (Schimel, 2012) [Ebook]
This book is a guide to succeeding in modern science. It equips science students, scientists, and professionals across a wide range of scientific and technical fields with the tools needed to communicate effectively.
The Routledge international handbook of student-centred learning and teaching in higher education (Hoidn and Klemenčič, 2020) [Ebook]
Offers an original, comprehensive and up-to-date overview of the fundamentals of student-centered learning and teaching (SCLT) and its discussion and applications in policy and practice.
Thanks for the feedback: the science and art of receiving feedback well (even when it is off base, unfair, poorly delivered, and, frankly, you're not in the mood) (Stone and Heen, 2018) [Ebook]
The bestselling authors of the classic Difficult Conversations teach us how to turn evaluations, advice, criticisms, and coaching into productive listening and learning.
Readings for diversity and social justice, 4th Ed. (Adams, 2018)
With full sections dedicated to racism, religious oppression, classism, ableism, youth and elder oppression, as well as an integrative section dedicated to sexism, heterosexism, and transgender oppression, this bestselling text goes far beyond the range of traditional readers. New essay selections in each section of this fourth edition have been carefully chosen to keep topic coverage timely and readings accessible and engaging for students. The interactions among these topics are highlighted throughout to stress the interconnections among oppressions in everyday life.
Distracted : why students can't focus and what you can do about it (Lang, 2020)
Lang makes the case for a new way of thinking about how to teach young minds based on the emerging neuroscience of attention. Simple changes can drastically improve students' performance, and in this book, Lang takes readers on a sprawling tour of how some of America's best teachers are improving student performance using concepts such as modular classrooms, flow states, and student-directed learning. Together, these insights offer a new way of thinking about how to not only more effectively teach a lesson plan, but to teach students the most important lesson of all: how to learn.
The 7 habits of highly effective people: powerful lessons in personal change - 30th Anniversary Edition (Covey, 2020) [Ebook]
This 30th anniversary edition of the timeless classic commemorates the wisdom of the 7 habits with modern additions from Sean Covey.
Challenges for Health and Safety in Higher Education and Research Organisations (Kuzmina and Hoyle, 2021) [Ebook]
Providing insight into methods of managing health and safety, training, and supervision, which help to build a strong and reliable health and safety system, this book is a collection of "best practices" from experienced safety professionals and researchers in Europe and the United States. These experiences demonstrate how health and safety professionals have overcome these issues and provide readers with ideas and models they can use in their own organisations.
Equity in Science: Representation, Culture, and the Dynamics of Change in Graduate Education (Posselt, 2020) [Ebook]
Informs the movement for inclusion in science through case studies of scientists working to reduce inequities in courses, departments, and disciplines. Tagline: People are not particles. Creating equity in science has a science all its own.
The online teaching survival guide: simple and practical pedagogical tips, 2nd Ed. (Boettcher and Conrad, 2016) [Ebook]
Essential reading for online instructors, updated to cover new and emerging issues and technologies, The Online Teaching Survival Guide provides a robust overview of theory-based techniques for teaching online or technology-enhanced courses.
Information on accessing ProQuest ebooks
Science research writing for non-native speakers of English (Glasman-Deal, 2010) [Ebook]
This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English. It can also be used by English speakers and is a practical, user-friendly book intended as a fast, do-it-yourself guide for those whose English language proficiency is above intermediate. The approach is based on material developed from teaching graduate students at Imperial College London and has been extensively piloted. The book guides the reader through the process of writing science research and will also help with writing a Master's or Doctoral thesis in English.
Augmented Reality in Education: A New Technology for Teaching and Learning (Geroimenko, 2020) [Ebook]
Explores the state of the art in educational augmented reality and its usage in a large variety of particular areas, such as medical education and training, English language education, chemistry learning, environmental and special education, dental training, mining engineering teaching, historical and fine art education.
Being a Researcher: An Informatics Perspective (Ghezzi, 2020) [Ebook]
Explores research from the researchers’ perspective: why to engage in research, what methods to follow, how to operate in daily life, what the responsibilities are, how to engage with society, and the ethical issues confronting professionals in their day-to-day research.
The diversity bonus: how great teams pay off in the knowledge economy (Page, 2017) [Ebook]
This book explains how businesses and other organizations can improve their performance by tapping the power of differences in how people think. It makes the case for diversity and inclusion, offering overwhelming evidence that teams that include different kinds of thinkers outperform homogenous groups on complex tasks, producing what he calls “diversity bonuses”—improved problem solving, increased innovation, and more accurate predictions—all of which lead to better results.
Scientific papers and presentations, 3rd Ed. (Davis et al., 2012) [Ebook]
The third edition applies traditional principles to today's modern techniques and the changing needs of up-and-coming academia. Topics include designing visual aids, writing first drafts, reviewing and revising, communicating clearly and concisely, adhering to stylistic principles, presenting data in tables and figures, dealing with ethical and legal issues, and relating science to the lay audience.
Consulting for PhDs, lawyers, and doctors (2008) [Ebook]
Covers: industry overview and trends; major consultancies and boutiques; profiles; recruiting.
Measuring noncognitive variables: improving admissions, success, and retention for underrepresented students (Sedlacek, 2017) [Ebook]
Written for admissions professionals, counselors, faculty and advisers who admit, teach, or work with students during the admissions process and post-enrollment period. It brings together theory, research and practice related to noncognitive variables in a practical way by using assessment methods provided at no cost. Noncognitive variables have been shown to correlate with the academic success of students of all races, cultures, and backgrounds. Noncognitive variables include personal and social dimensions, adjustment, motivation, and student perceptions, rather than the traditional verbal and quantitative areas (often called cognitive) typically measured by standardized tests.
The slow professor: challenging the culture of speed in the academy (Berg and Seeber, 2106) [Ebook]
If there is one sector of society that should be cultivating deep thought in itself and others, it is academia. Yet the corporatisation of the contemporary university has sped up the clock, demanding increased speed and efficiency from faculty regardless of the consequences for education and scholarship. This book discusses how adopting the principles of the Slow movement in academic life can counter this erosion of humanistic education.
The privileged poor: how elite colleges are failing disadvantaged students (Jack, 2019) [Ebook]
Getting in is only half the battle. The struggles of less privileged students continue long after they've arrived on campus. Anthony Jack reveals how--and why--admission to elite schools does not mean acceptance for disadvantaged students, and he explains what schools can do differently to help the privileged poor thrive.
The Craft of Scientific Writing, 4th Ed. (Alley, 2018) [e-book]
Designed to help scientists and engineers--both professionals already active in the disciplines as well as students preparing to enter the professions--write about their work clearly and effectively.
Programming, Data Analysis, and Visualization (2020-11-30)
Learning Scientific Programming with Python, 2nd Ed. (Hill, 2020) [Ebook]
Beginning with general programming concepts such as loops and functions within the core Python 3 language, and moving on to the NumPy, SciPy and Matplotlib libraries for numerical programming and data visualization, this textbook also discusses the use of Jupyter Notebooks to build rich-media, shareable documents for scientific analysis. The second edition features a new chapter on data analysis with the pandas library and comprehensive updates, and new exercises and examples. A final chapter introduces more advanced topics such as floating-point precision and algorithm stability, and extensive online resources support further study.
Linked data visualization: techniques, tools, and big data (Po et al., 2020) [Ebook]
Covers a wide spectrum of visualization topics, providing an overview of the recent advances in this area, focusing on techniques, tools, and use cases of visualization and visual analysis of Linked Data.