Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Profiles In Science
"This site celebrates twentieth-century leaders in biomedical research and public health. It makes the archival collections of prominent scientists, physicians, and others who have advanced the scientific enterprise available to the public ..." including Linus Pauling.
History of Chemistry
Bogdan Antonescu; an academic genealogy back to the 1300s
Antonescu's genealogy goes back thru Marie Curie's adviser ... as does William A. Goddard III
Chemical Genealogy Database
Information on a scientists' academic advisers, description of research, with a bibliography. 'Other Links' provides an extensive listing of other genealogical and historical sites.
Chemical Genealogy Debates (MSU)
A bibliography of institutional genealogy projects.
Chemistry Connections (RSC) [Currently Inactive]
"Chemistry Connections is a growing map of the academic lineage in the chemical sciences, all connected by who an individual studied under."
Contrasts in scientific style: research groups in the chemical and biochemical sciences
A detailed examination of the research groups of Liebin, Hoppe-Seyler, Baeyer, Fischer and Hofmeister ... comparing the leader's research with that of his students.
Mathematics Genealogy Project
"The intent of this project is to compile information about ALL the mathematicians of the world."
Oesper Collections in the History of Chemistry
A series of museum booklets on the History of the Chemical Apparatus, including spectroscopes, refractometers, and colorimeters, can be accessed at https://drc.libraries.uc.edu/handle/2374.UC/733810.
"Each booklet would include not only photographs of both displayed and stored museum artifacts, but also a short discussion of the history of the instrument or technique and of its impact on the development of chemistry as a whole."
Scientific Genealogy Master List
An extensive index of:
1. Scientists Associated with Concepts in Chemistry & Physics.
2. Scientists Associated with Discovering the Elements.
3. An bibliography of source material.
The Academic Family Tree
"Building a single, interdisciplinary academic genealogy.
The Academic Family Tree is a nonprofit, user content-driven web database that aims to accurately document and publicly share the academic genealogy of current and historical researchers across all fields of academia."