Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing Electronic Materials
Electronic resources are restricted to members of the Caltech community with a current access.caltech account unless otherwise indicated - you will be taken to the library proxy login if accessing from off-campus. Publicly available resources are indicated by the text Open Access in the description.
Chemistry books are on the 2nd floor in the Sherman Fairchild Library. If you would like to browse books, use the below chart to determine the relevant call number range. Otherwise, search the Library Catalog to find books by subject, title and author.
||Physical & Theoretical
Reference books are on the first floor of the Sherman Fairchild Library, on the west side (same side as the printers).
Science of Synthesis
A comprehensive collection of methods in organic synthesis, based upon the historic Houben–Weyl Methoden der Organischen Chemie. Published since 2000 as Science of Synthesis by Thieme, this series is updated quarterly. The ebook series is searchable by text or chemical structure or reaction, and accepts both molfile and ChemDraw structure files as well.
e-EROS (Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis)
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis: systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents (both classical and new) used in organic chemistry. Can be searched by browsing through an A-Z list of reagent names, by entry author, or by structure/reaction. Entries include include information on physical data, structure, preparation, and safety.
Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis
Electronic version containing all print columes and an A to Z listing of all reagents cited in synthetic literature with concise descriptions and illustrations of chemical reactions. All information about a particular reagent is collected in one single article. Thousands of entries abstract the most important information on commonly used and new reagents, including preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments, references and more.
ACS Ebook Package: Caltech has purchased the ACS eBook archive, which includes all titles from 1949 through 2012.
RSC Ebook Package: We have access to the entire RSC Ebook collection. If you have trouble accessing any of the titles, please contact me.
List of Current Course Reserves
Due to the CODIV-19 pandemic, all course reserves items for Fall 2020 will be on CLOSED RESERVE (requires checkout) and will circulate for 24 hours.
If you are an instructor interested in placing materials (including electronic) on reserve for a course, visit our Course Reserves page for more inforamtion.