It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering (CCE): Literature Databases
Library information and resources for the CCE Division at Caltech. Resources for this guide were originally compiled and maintained by Dana Roth.
LibGuide with information on how to register to use SciFinder at Caltech. SciFinder is the interface to Chemical Abstracts Service's databases including Chemical Abstracts/CAPLUS, CAS Registry file, CASREACT (organic/organometallic reactions), patents, and chemical suppliers.
If you already have a CALTECH SciFinder account, click here to log in. PLEASE NOTE you MUST register using your Caltech credentials in order to use SciFinder from the Caltech campus. If you had an account through a previous institution, it WILL NOT WORK.
Science Citation Index Expanded covers more than 8,500 notable journals encompassing 150 disciplines from the year 1900 to the present day.
Social Sciences Citation Index covers more than 3,000 journals in social science disciplines from the year 1900 to the present day.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals starting from 1975 and 250 major scientific and social sciences journals.
Emerging Sources Citation Index covers over 5,000 journals in the sciences, social science, and humanities. Book Citation Index covers more than 60,000 editorially selected books starting from 2005. Conference Proceedings Citation Index covers more than 160,000 conference titles in the Sciences starting from 1990 to the present day.
Database for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions.Based on Beilstein, Gmelin and an "Organic" Patent Database (US 1976+ and EP, WO 1978+). Please note you must access either via the VPN or via the "Sign-in via your institution" link and select California Institute of Technology.
Entries include links to MeSH terms and other NCBI resources, including molecular structure, DNA sequence, and protein sequence databases, as well as to PMC and other OA sources where available. This custom link will also include CaltechConnect functionality to access full text or request via DocuServe.
A brief introduction to PubMed on the "NCBI Resources" Library Guide.
Caltech subscribes to many journals in electronic format. However, we may not have electronic access to all issues for a given title. For some titles, we may only have access for the past few years, or back to a certain volume or year. If we do not have access to an older issue of a title, check the Catalog. Also please note that we may have access to different years through different electronic sources.
A tricky part of deciphering citations is figuring out the Journal Abbreviation. There are a few tools to help you do this:
CASSI - Chemical Abstracts Services Source Index is a listing of both journal abbreviations and full titles. You can use this to translate an abbreviation, or, knowing the full journal title, find its accepted abbreviation to use in your citation. However, it is limited to publications indexed by CAS.
Beyond CASSI is a listing of severely shortened journal title abbreviations, that are not listed in CASSI, with corresponding full journal titles and CASSI abbreviations.