Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AIP Oral History Interviews
"Interviews that offer unique insights into the lives, works, and personalities of modern scientists".
Over 1000 interviews ranging in date from the early 1960s covering the past 100 years of physics.
Caltech Oral Histories Collection
~250 interviews covering both the personal histories and the scientific careers, as well as themed interviews on specific projects (e.g., Keck Telescope and LIGO).
Finding Images Guide
"A guide to finding and using images in all areas of study". Tabs for Getting Started, Subject areas, in articles, in books ...
Astronomy Image Explorer (AIE)
"The Astronomy Image Explorer (AIE) has been designed as a convenient and efficient tool for researchers working in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics to gain access to images published in peer-reviewed journals." AIE indexes both images and videos linked from The Astronomical Journal and The Astrophysical Journal from 2008+
Built in America
Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections ... Library of Congress.
Elsevier's Engineering AudioSlides Challenge
"Back in October, we challenged authors of the 2012 top-25 downloaded papers in Engineering to submit an AudioSlides presentation to accompany their published article.
We were thrilled to receive a total of 67 presentations by the 31st October deadline.
Emilio Segre Visual Archives
An AIP hosted archive with over 7K items related to 20th century physicists and astronomers.
EROS: Earth Resources Observation and Science Image Gallery
Provides Landsat and Shaded relief images ... and 'Earth as Art' displays.
"Figures are important experimental results that are typically reported in full-text bioscience articles. Existing research in figure search treats each figure equally, but we introduce a novel concept of “figure ranking”. Described at:
Provides Hubble Telescope images for galaxies, solar system, nebulae, stars, etc.
Images from the History of Medicine Database
"Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides online access to over 70,000 digitized images of the approximate 100,000 items from the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) Prints and Photographs collection.
IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century."
Images: ... for Educational Purposes
"Santa Clara University Library has collected links and information on finding and using images for reports, presentations, and other educational purposes. This collection is by no means exhaustive and this guide is a work in progress."
Mazwai.com is a resource for free stock footage and moving images.
NASA Image Galleries
Provides images ... topics, missions, galleries.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
" Explore 829,967 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more."
NOAA Photo Library
Weather and space images
Photojournal: NASA's Image Access Home Page
The JPL Photojournal website is an easy-to-use interface to NASA's Planetary Image Archive.
A searchable database of ~3M graphs, histograms, figures and tables ... of which ~300K are freely available. The remainder are in subscription journals.
USGS Denver Library Photographic Collection
Search an archive of more than 500,000 still photographs, slides, glass plate slides, lantern slides, negatives, and sketches dating from the 1870s and taken by USGS scientists as part of their field studies.
"... more than 8 million images from PubMed Central"
ACS Breakthrough Science video series
"The ACS Breakthrough Science video series is designed to expand the visibility of selected research published in ACS journals. Gaining this kind of global publicity is one potential author benefit of publishing in ACS Journals."
"IET.tv is part of the knowledge portfolio of the Institution of Engineering and Technology. It’s one of the largest specialist video catalogues available online. It contains more than 6000 video presentations, and news items, and is growing at a rate of more than 900 new presentations a year...
Programmes from practising engineers, technologists and key industry speakers are streamed live and on-demand, will be fully downloadable from January 2015"
JoVE: Journal of Visuaized Experiments
A proprietary publisher of peer reviewed video journals. A description is given in: Online Searcher (2013), 37(5), 28-30, 31, 49-50.
Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting
30 June–5 July 2019: The 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting (#LINO19) will be dedicated to physics. Around 40 Nobel Laureates will meet 600 international young scientists for an inspiring dialogue. We are already looking forward to this unique celebration of scientific exchange.
NSF Science Now: Video Laboratory
"... a weekly newscast that covers some of the latest innovations from NSF-funded projects ... at three to five minutes"
NSF: Science360 Video Library
" ... over 120 (~5 minute) videos on a wide range of topics (astronomy, chemistry. geology, mathematics, medicine, physics and technology) includes chemistry of cheeseburgers, how oil dispersents work, and why ammonia is good for cleaning.
"ScienceCinema highlights leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy as well as the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, ScienceCinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files. Simply enter a term in the box and start exploring!"
TIB | AV Portal
"The AV portal of the German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB) provides new multimedia retrieval methods for the search in high grade scientific films from the fields of technology and the natural sciences."
Videvo is an extensive collection of free video clips, as well as motion graphics, music and sound effects.