Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CRSP - The CRSP US Stock Databases contain daily and monthly market and corporate action data for securities with primary listings on the NYSE, NYSE MKT, NASDAQ, and Arca exchanges and include CRSP broad market indexes. CRSP databases are characterized by their comprehensive corporate action information and highly accurate total return calculations.
The CRSP Index Database product contains five groups of CRSP indexes: CRSP Stock File Indexes, CRSP Cap-Based Portfolios, CRSP Indexes for the S&P 500 Universe, CRSP Treasury and Inflation (CTI) Indexes, and the CRSP Select Treasury Indexes.
Email Prof. Michael Ewens (mewensATcaltech.edu) for information about accessing the data.
OECD Statistics Portal
Some datasets are free, others require a subscription.
UN Millennium Development Goals Indicators
This site presents the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals around the world.
Publicly-available statistical data on the world's countries, on everything from crime to education, the economy, demographics and more, and allows users to choose a country and/or a set of statistics to graph a comparison between designated countries.
OECD Science, Technology and Industry Outlook
Produced by the OECD. Only a selection of sections available online. For all sections use the 2005 edition available in Millikan Library, Basement, HC10 .I6224 2005
California and U.S. public policy issues with an emphasis on statistics
Provides access to a huge number of key economic time series data, with a special emphasis on forecasting data. This site was started to help students in an Applied Forecasting class who needed easy access to large amounts of data.
Pitchbook - Provides rich information about private equity, venture capital, and mergers and acquisitions. The portal is available to Caltech students only and allows for unlimited viewing. Sign up here with your @caltech.edu credentials. Access is available only on campus. View the tutorials for additional information. Contact Prof. Michael Ewens (mewensATcaltech.edu) with any issues.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Reporting a host of financial market statistics, FRED provides a useful resource for accessing detailed US Macroeconomic data.
2017 Economic Census
Taken every 5 years the Economic Census provides statistical data on U.S. industries as a whole and industries within a geographic area; industries are classified primarily by NAICS
The FedStats website (Webpage 1) was removed and does not appear to be available
anywhere on the federal government’s Web domain at this time. All FedStats domain
URLs now redirect to the homepage of the NCES version of the FCSM website at the
Industry Economic Accounts
from the Bureau of Economic Analysis
Monthly Retail Trade Data
Retail sales and inventories by business industry.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Provides data on population, vital statistics, health, law enforcement, education, politics, and other areas of general interest. Hint: look at the source of the data to get more detailed information. The print version is often easier to use.
SBA: Statistics for Specific Industries
Small Business Administration page pointing to government statistics for specific industries including Banking, Energy and Environment.
SEC EDGAR Financial Statement Archive
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR.