It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ch 242: Chemical Synthesis: Databases
A short guide to resources for students taking Ch 242a and Ch 242b at Caltech.
LibGuide with information on how to register to use SciFinder at Caltech. SciFinder is the interface to Chemical Abstracts Service's databases including Chemical Abstracts/CAPLUS, CAS Registry file, CASREACT (organic/organometallic reactions), patents, and chemical suppliers.
If you already have a CALTECH SciFinder account, click here to log in. PLEASE NOTE you MUST register using your Caltech credentials in order to use SciFinder from the Caltech campus. If you had an account through a previous institution, it WILL NOT WORK.
Database for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions.Based on Beilstein, Gmelin and an "Organic" Patent Database (US 1976+ and EP, WO 1978+). Please note you must access either via the VPN or via the "Sign-in via your institution" link and select California Institute of Technology.
Science Citation Index Expanded covers more than 8,500 notable journals encompassing 150 disciplines from the year 1900 to the present day.
Social Sciences Citation Index covers more than 3,000 journals in social science disciplines from the year 1900 to the present day.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals starting from 1975 and 250 major scientific and social sciences journals.
Emerging Sources Citation Index covers over 5,000 journals in the sciences, social science, and humanities. Book Citation Index covers more than 60,000 editorially selected books starting from 2005. Conference Proceedings Citation Index covers more than 160,000 conference titles in the Sciences starting from 1990 to the present day.
30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books from 1946 to present (based on MEDLINE), with selected coverage back to 1809. From the United States National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health.
Entries include links to MeSH terms and other NCBI resources, including molecular structure, DNA sequence, and protein sequence databases, as well as to PMC and other OA sources where available. This custom link will also include CaltechConnect functionality to access full text or request via DocuServe.
A comprehensive collection of methods in organic synthesis, based upon the historic Houben–Weyl Methoden der Organischen Chemie. Published since 2000 as Science of Synthesis by Thieme, this series is updated quarterly. The ebook series is searchable by text or chemical structure or reaction, and accepts both molfile and ChemDraw structure files as well.
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis: systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents (both classical and new) used in organic chemistry. Can be searched by browsing through an A-Z list of reagent names, by entry author, or by structure/reaction. Entries include include information on physical data, structure, preparation, and safety.
Contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition. Also has links to named reactions and a reference table of abbreviations and structures used in the Index. Updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
Electronic version containing all print columes and an A to Z listing of all reagents cited in synthetic literature with concise descriptions and illustrations of chemical reactions. All information about a particular reagent is collected in one single article. Thousands of entries abstract the most important information on commonly used and new reagents, including preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments, references and more.