Library: Education and Teaching Resources: Welcome!

Welcome!

Welcome to the Caltech Education and Teaching Resources LibGuide! This guide contains titles that discuss teaching and learning, including areas such as research, practical application, and other related communications skills. These titles are selected and maintained by the Caltech Project for Effective Teaching (CPET), the Caltech Center for Teaching, Learning and Outreach (Caltech CTLO), and the Caltech Library.

Print titles are located throughout the Caltech Library locations. Electronic books are designated by [Ebook] after the title, and are accessible only to Caltech faculty, students and staff from off-campus.

Links in this guide will take you to the catalog record for print items, where you can view availability and more information about the title. Ebook links will go directly to the title (you will be prompted for your Caltech username and password if you are off-campus).

For more information:

Finding Education Literature

The following databases can be helpful for finding education-related literature:

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center
Provides access to more than 1.2 million education-related records of journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, etc. Links to full text are included, if available.
Education Source
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded covers more than 8,500 notable journals encompassing 150 disciplines from the year 1900 to the present day.
Social Sciences Citation Index covers more than 3,000 journals in social science disciplines from the year 1900 to the present day.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals starting from 1975 and 250 major scientific and social sciences journals.
Emerging Sources Citation Index covers over 5,000 journals in the sciences, social science, and humanities. Book Citation Index covers more than 60,000 editorially selected books starting from 2005. Conference Proceedings Citation Index covers more than 160,000 conference titles in the Sciences starting from 1990 to the present day.
Google Scholar

Using Boolean operators in searching can help give more precise results.

AND: Forces your search results to include all terms connected by AND
OR: Search results will include any of the terms connected by OR (but not necessarily all)
NOT: Search results will include the first term but not the term following NOT
Quotes: Forces search results to include the exact wording between quotation marks