Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Caltech Library logo

Ge/ESE 170: Microbial Ecology: Databases to Search

A short guide to resources for students taking Ge/ESE 170 at Caltech.

Web of Science

Web of Science Core Collection, produced by the international knowledge management corporation Clarivate Analytics, provides a powerful system for finding articles in > 20,900 journals, books, and conference proceedings It covers the sciences, social sciences and humanities. For each item record in the database, one can retrieve references it cites, as well as subsequent works that cite the item.This means of backward and forward citation linking can yield additional relevant works that may be of interest to the searcher.

Caltech students, staff, and faculty have access to the online version of this database from anywhere on the Caltech network, or from remote locations using the Library Proxy server or IMSS VPN.

Search tips:

  • Use the "Advanced Search" to create discrete record sets for each concept in your research question. Then combine these sets to create a complex results set with the correct boolean logic between and within each concept.
  • If you're looking for a specific author, search the Author field last name first initial asterisk, so Albert Einstein would be Einstein A*.
  • The Topic field can be used for keywords. To search by other fields, consult the list of searchable fields
  • To find review articles, search on your keywords in the topic field and then on the results screen in the "Refine Results" section, expand the "Document Types" section, click on "Review" and then click the "Refine" button.
  • There is no thesaurus for Web of Science Core Collection, but you may consult their list of subject categories to help refine your search

Additional information about Web of Science Core Collection is available from the database website. Please note that this guide includes additional databases to which Caltech does not subscribe.

Energy & Power Source

Energy & Power Source, produced by EBSCO Information Services,  is the premier full-text database of energy and power industry-related content. It provides top journals and magazines focused on petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power and renewable energy. It also features benchmarks and best practices from top industry players worldwide.

Caltech students, staff, and faculty have access to the online version of this database from anywhere on the Caltech network, or from remote locations using the Library Proxy server or IMSS VPN.

Search tips:

  • When you find an article of interest, click on its title to view the summary and see what subject terms have been used to describe that article. You can then search on those terms.
  • When you find an article of interest, check for a full text link such as a PDF full text link or a HTML full text link.If available, click to open the article. Once you have clicked on PDF Full Text you will see icons allowing you to Download, Print or Email the full text

Other Databases & Resources

To find review articles in PubMed, enter review literature and your subject terms. For example: review literature and "aids vaccines"

If you're not finding what you're looking for in the most popular databases and indexes, Caltech subscribes to many more databases that can be found here.

Annual Reviews is a good place to search for review articles as well. Note that reviews don't exist for every topic; if you find your topic getting few or no hits, try a broader topic.

If you need help finding starting points for research in specific academic disciplines, click here.

AGRICOLA

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access), an open access  database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. The database contains 5,200,000+ records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

All users are able to use Agricola without a subscription.

AGRICOLA records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

Both data sets are updated daily with newly cataloged and indexed materials. Each may be searched separately, or the two may be searched together. The NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) may also be accessed on a fee basis through several commercial vendors, either online or on CD-ROM.

To learn more about the NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA), see the Agricola Help page, along with the AGRICOLA Specifications for Cataloging and Indexing Records.

Note: Data from the NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) are for personal use only. Users are responsible for complying with all associated copyright and licensing restrictions.

Food Science Source

Food Science Source, produced by EBSCO Information Services, contains articles from over 1400 publications including journals, books, magazines and trade publications covering the food industry and related topics. The database also provides access to over 1000 food industry and market reports.

Caltech students, staff, and faculty have access to the online version of this database from anywhere on the Caltech network, or from remote locations using the Library Proxy server or IMSS VPN.

Search tips:

  • When you find an article of interest, click on its title to view the summary and see what subject terms have been used to describe that article. You can then search on those terms.
  • When you find an article of interest, check for a full text link such as a PDF full text link or a HTML full text link.If available, click to open the article. Once you have clicked on PDF Full Text you will see icons allowing you to Download, Print or Email the full text