Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
iThenticate Services and Characteristics
- Upload of popular document formats
- Similarity check of text against large database of documents (published and unpublished)
- Similarity index provides overall percentage of similarity with known sources
- Similarity report provides view of individual sources with similar text
- Filtering features allow removal of sources by word count, percent of similarity, source URL
- Analysis filters limit similarity checking by section of document, word count, percent of similarity
- Allows for collaboration
- Compares manuscripts against its database of over 60 billion web pages and 155 million content items, including 49 million works from 800 scholarly publisher participants
- Does not store a copy in a database
Readings about iThenticate
- Butler, Declan. “Journals Step up Plagiarism Policing.” Nature 466, no. 7303 (July 8, 2010): 167–167. https://doi.org/10.1038/466167a.
- Carney, P. Scott, and Samuel T. Thurman. “Self-Plagiarism and Conference Papers: Editorial.” Journal of the Optical Society of America A 35, no. 10 (October 1, 2018): ED4. https://doi.org/10.1364/JOSAA.35.000ED4.
- Crossref. “CrossCheck Plagiarism Screening.” Business, 23:03:56 UTC. https://www.slideshare.net/CrossRef/crosscheck-plagiarism-screening.
- “Crossref Similarity Check Powered by IThenticate.” Accessed December 10, 2017. https://www.ithenticate.com/products/crossref-similarity-check.
- “FAQs | Plagiarism Software.” Accessed December 10, 2017. https://www.ithenticate.com/products/faqs.
- Horbach, S. P. J. M. (Serge), and W. (Willem) Halffman. “The Extent and Causes of Academic Text Recycling or ‘Self-Plagiarism.’” Research Policy, Academic Misconduct, Misrepresentation, and Gaming, 48, no. 2 (March 1, 2019): 492–502. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.respol.2017.09.004.
- “IBWC Treaties.” Accessed August 26, 2019. https://www.ibwc.gov/Treaties_Minutes/treaties.html.
- “IThenticate Study ID’s 10 Plagiarism Formats Worthy of Attention.” ASBPE, October 15, 2013. https://www.asbpe.org/blog/2013/10/15/ithenticate-study-ids-10-plagiarism-formats-worthy-of-attention/.
- “IThenticate User Guide.” Guides.turnitin.com, May 4, 2016. https://guides.turnitin.com/iThenticate/iThenticate_User_Guide.
- Lee, Jang Hyun. “Analysis of CrossCheck Data on Two Years’ Worth of Papers Submitted to Archives of Plastic Surgery.” Archives of Plastic Surgery 41, no. 5 (September 2014): 449–51. https://doi.org/10.5999/aps.2014.41.5.449.
- Lee, Won. “CrossCheck Data of Manuscripts Submitted to Journal of the Korean Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons.” Journal of the Korean Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons 41, no. 3 (2015): 117. https://doi.org/10.5125/jkaoms.2015.41.3.117.
- Meddings, Kirsty. “Credit Where Credit’s Due: Plagiarism Screening in Scholarly Publishing.” Learned Publishing 23, no. 1 (2010): 5–8. https://doi.org/10.1087/20100102.
- ———. CrossCheck Plagiarism Screening: What’s the Magic Number, 2012.
- “RCR Tip: Plagiarism and IThenticate | Office of Research & Engagement.” Accessed December 10, 2017. https://research.utk.edu/rcr-tip-plagiarism-and-ithenticate/.
- United States., United States, Spencer Fullerton Baird, T. A. Conrad, William H. Emory, George Englemann, Charles Girard, et al. Report on the United States and Mexican Boundary Survey :Made under the Direction of the Secretary of the Interior /. Washington : C. Wendell, printer, 1857. https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/bibliography/213.
- ———. Report on the United States and Mexican Boundary Survey :Made under the Direction of the Secretary of the Interior /. Washington : C. Wendell, printer, 1857. https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/bibliography/213.
- “Update on Similarity Check Usage and Developments.” European Science Editing, 2016. https://doi.org/10.20316/ESE.2016.42.025.
- Zhang, Yue-hong Helen, Xiao-yan Jia, Han-feng Lin, and Xu-fei Tan. “Be Careful! Avoiding Duplication: A Case Study.” Journal of Zhejiang University SCIENCE B 14, no. 4 (2013): 355–58. https://doi.org/10.1631/jzus.B1300078.
- Zhang, Yuehong, and Xiaoyan Jia. “A Survey on the Use of CrossCheck for Detecting Plagiarism in Journal Articles.” Learned Publishing 25, no. 4 (October 1, 2012): 292–307. https://doi.org/10.1087/20120408.
Frequently Asked Questions