Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Caltech Library logo

Chemistry & Chemical Engineering (CCE): Newsletter

Library information and resources for the CCE Division at Caltech. Resources for this guide were originally compiled and maintained by Dana Roth.

Week of May 9, 2022

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering — Week of May 9, 2022

What's Inside

Who's New in the Archives: Maurice A. Biot Grant Recipient Miriam F. Lipton

Division News
- DrugHunter Trial
- MyNCBI Update
- Thieme WebCheminar
- CCDC May Webinar

Staff News: Kara Whatley Elected ACRL Councilor 

Happening Now: Undergraduate Senior Thesis Prize Nominations

Featured Resource:
JSTOR’s Expanded Access Program

Workshop Highlight:
You & Your Thesis

Vroman's @ Caltech Library Book Selection:
The Economics of Water Resources—
A Comprehensive Approach

Who's New in the Archives: Maurice A. Biot Grant Recipient Miriam F. Lipton
 
Caltech Library awarded a Maurice A. Biot Grant to Miriam F. Lipton, a PhD candidate in History and Philosophy of Science at Oregon State University. She conducted research in the Caltech Archives and Special Collections on how American and Soviet scientists used the bacteriophage virus to address the problem of antibiotic resistance in the 1940s and 1950s. She wrote a brief report on what she learned in the Caltech Archives.

"[In] the U.S., Caltech was one of the key centers for bacteriophage research in the 1940s. However, unlike in the Soviet Union where bacteriophages were used therapeutically, researchers at Caltech studied bacteriophages for their genetic applications. During my time at Caltech, therefore, I wanted to explore the papers of these bacteriophage researchers in order to understand what, if any, relationship they had to Soviet science and the therapeutic applications of bacteriophages."

Division News
 
DrugHunter Website Trial
 
The Caltech Library has arranged for a subscription trial to the DrugHunter website. DrugHunter focuses on highlighting new research and regulatory information on molecules of pharmacological interest. Subscription access includes site-searchable summaries, deep-dives on molecules, and slide decks on approvals. 
 
How to access: You must have a @caltech.edu email address! Contact Donna for the coupon code, then visit this page and enter the code. Please note this trial access is only for one month. Signups will be accepted through the end of June.
 
Please send me feedback by the end of June at dtwrub@caltech.edu! A subscription decision will be made in July and no feedback = no subscription!
 
MyNCBI Update

Changes to MyNCBI Login: As of June 2022, you will be required to login using a 3rd-party option. See this NCBI Insights post for more information.

Thieme WebCheminar: Asymmetric C–H Functionalization – presented by SYNTHESIS - May 11, 2022


Learn more about Asymmetric C–H Functionalization, one of the most active areas of organic synthesis, in our Thieme WebCheminar with Joanna Wencel-Delord (France), Shigeki Matsunaga (Japan), Nicolai Cramer (Switzerland), and Bing-Feng Shi (China). Chaired by Liu-Zhu Gong and Gong Chen (China). Register here! (Even though the time is inconvenient, a recording usually is made available.)

CCDC May What's Up Webinar - Advanced searching for hit identification - May 19, 2022

Join us to hear news and updates on CSD software, with live demonstrations delivered by our team of scientists. In May, our theme is advanced searching for hit identification. Hit identification, finding compounds with confirmed activity against the target, is a crucial stage in early drug discovery. Because it is so early in the process, mistakes or missed opportunities in hit identification can increase the risk of significant loss of time and resources later on. Conversely, employing data-driven, digital approaches here can save time; quickly highlighting opportunities with minimal cost. Register here!

Staff News: Kara Whatley Elected ACRL Councilor to the ALA
 
University Librarian Kara Whatley has been elected as the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Councilor to the American Library Association (ALA). She will also serve on the ACRL Executive Board. "Representing nearly 9,000 individuals and libraries, the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), the largest division of the American Library Association, develops programs, products, and services to help those working in academic and research libraries learn, innovate, and lead within the academic community."

Happening Now: Undergraduate Senior Thesis Prize Nominations

The Caltech Library and the Undergraduate Academic Standards and Honors Committee (UASH) are now accepting nominations from faculty for the 2022 Undergraduate Senior Thesis Prize, which recognizes senior theses that exemplify research and the effective use of the scholarly record. The prize is made possible by the Friends of the Caltech Library.

Featured Resource: JSTOR’s Expanded Access Program
 
The Library currently subscribes to 6 JSTOR Journal Collections. In 2020, JSTOR announced that during the pandemic all subscribers would have expanded access to all JSTOR journal collections. JSTOR has just announced that they’re continuing this expanded access for another year, through June 2023. Our campus can continue to enjoy full access to all JSTOR journal archive content for another year.

Workshop Highlight: 
You & Your Thesis

This class will give a brief overview of techniques useful in the production and publication of Caltech electronic theses, including tips on formatting and submitting. It will also touch on intellectual property considerations and access, as well as thesis dissemination policies. Additional topics may include author identification (ORCIDs) and preservation of thesis-related research data.


Vroman's @ Caltech Library Book Selection:The Economics
of Water Resources—
A Comprehensive Approach


Population growth and rising living standards, on the one hand, and changing climate, on the other hand, have exacerbated water scarcity worldwide. To address this problem, policymakers need to take a wide view of the water economy—a complex structure involving environmental, social, economic, legal, and institutional aspects. A coherent water policy must look at the water economy as a whole and apply a comprehensive approach to policy interventions. 




We've started a monthly newsletter for the Caltech community at large.


 
Please feel free to contact me with any questions!

Donna T. Wrublewski, Ph.D., MRSC (she/her)
Head of Research Services
Librarian for Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
dtwrub@caltech.edu