Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Caltech Library logo

Citation Management

Writing a paper is complicated. Collecting, organizing, sharing, and citing sources is easier with citation management.

IMPORTANT PROXY NOTICE

The Library updated its proxy service as of 2021-08-17. Proxied links now use the caltech.idm.oclc.org domain. If you are using Zotero, you will have to change your Zotero Connector proxy setting as well:

  1. Under Zotero Connector, select Options.
  2. Select Proxies.
  3. Click the + to add a new proxy. Add %h.caltech.idm.oclc.org/%p under Scheme and check the box for "Automatically convert between dots and hyphens in proxied hostnames."

About Zotero

Zotero logoZotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a citation management system for collecting, organizing, sharing, and citing sources. It's easy to use, connects with your web browser, and it's free!

Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes, and images to your citations, organize them into collections, create bibliographies, share citations, and to add them to documents while you write.

For up-to-date news about Zotero, please check out Zotero's blog.


Zotero for iOS Beta

The official Zotero app for iPhone and iPad is currently in beta testing. You can sign up for the beta app here.


Caltech Digital Library Development and Zotero

Michael Hucka, Research Applications Developer with the Caltech Library, developed a tool called Zowie (“Zotero link writer”). Zowie is a command-line program for macOS that writes Zotero select links into the file attachments contained in a Zotero database. Check out Michael's GitHub page for details!

Zotero code is free and open-source. If you have programming skills or want to develop them, there are many ways to contribute to Zotero or build on it.

Introduction to Zotero

Zoom Session (Online)

Are you writing a research paper or ready to start your thesis? Looking for an easy way to collect, organize, share, and cite sources? 'Introduction to Zotero' may be just the quick-start session you need. Zotero is an open-source, community-developed citation manager similar to EndNote. Demonstrations will include importing citations into Zotero from academic sources, making bibliographies, using Microsoft Word with Zotero, sharing citations, and other topics as audience interest dictates (and as time allows).

'Introduction to Zotero' is being offered online only via Zoom. Once you have registered for the class (registration link below), you will receive an email with a link to join the Zoom meeting. For more information about getting and using Zoom, please visit Caltech's Zoom Video Conferencing page.

Wednesday // October 13, 2021 // 2:00 pm PST // Register here!
Tuesday // November 9, 2021 // 4:00 pm PST // Register here!


If you're a member of the Caltech community and a scheduled workshop isn't convenient for you, please contact us to schedule a one-on-one session or a session for your group.


To export an EndNote library for use in Zotero:

  1. Open EndNote and select the citations you want to export.
  2. Go to File > Export.
  3. Set “Save as type” to XML.
    • NOTE: If you only want to export a subset of your library, check the “Export Selected References” box. Otherwise, make sure it is unchecked.
  4. Click “Save.”
  5. Close Endnote.
  6. In Zotero, go to File > Import.
  7. When asked “Where do you want to import from?” choose “A file (BibTeX, RIS, Zotero RDF, etc.).”
  8. Double-click the XML file that was exported from EndNote.
  9. Citations are added to a collection in Zotero with the same name as the XML file (in most cases “My EndNote Library").

To export an EndNote library including PDF attachments for use in Zotero:

  1. In EndNote, select the citations you want to export and then go to File > Export; a dialog box will pop up asking you where to save the export file.
  2. In that dialog box, navigate to your EndNote data directory (typically, "My Documents\endnote.Data"); this directory contains a 'PDF' folder, but make sure to select the data directory rather than any sub-directory. (This is important: Zotero will look for file attachments in a directory relative to the XML file you are about to export. If this file is located in the wrong place during import into Zotero, file attachments will not be imported.)
  3. Set “Save as type” to XML, click “save” and the file should now be in your "My Documents\endnote.Data" folder.
    • NOTE: If you only want to export a subset of your library, check the “Export Selected References” box. Otherwise, make sure it is unchecked.
  4. In Zotero, go to File > Import.
  5. When asked “Where do you want to import from?” choose “A file (BibTeX, RIS, Zotero RDF, etc.).”
  6. Double-click the XML file that was exported from EndNote.
  7. Citations are added to a collection in Zotero with the same name as the XML file (in most cases “My EndNote Library").

Check out Zotero's documentation on importing from EndNote for more information.

Credits

Some of the contents of this LibGuide were adapted from Zotero wiki content distributed under various Creative Commons licenses. Additional content was adapted from the Zotero Research Guide by Jason Puckett and licensed by Georgia State University Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.