Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Caltech Library logo

Research Data Management: Subject Repositories & Sharing Data

Sharing Data

Why publish your data in a repository?

You can share your data easily by emailing it to requesters, or posting it to a website, Google, Amazon or Microsoft. Unfortunately, this method of sharing makes it difficult for people to find your data. Depositing your data in an archive will facilitate its discovery, preservation, and citation. The Online Registry of Research Data Repositories is a good place to start.  Search it by topic or  Browse by subject, content type, or country.

Data Created at Caltech (Any Discipline)

Caltech CODA - The repository created to capture, distribute, and preserve digital products of Caltech faculty and researchers. Authors can archive their digital works in a variety of formats, including datasets. Caltech CODA has been in operation since 2000 and has an institutional commitment through the Caltech Library to provide storage, preservation, and distribution services on behalf of the Caltech community in perpetuity. For more information on how to deposit data into Caltech CODA, contact coda AT library.caltech.edu.

Data Repositories By Discipline

Astronomy

Atmospheric Science

Biology

Chemistry

  • PubChem - provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively.

Climate

Computer Science

Earth Science

  • COPDESS - This directory will help you, as an Earth and Space science researcher, author, or journal, find the right repository for your data, based on data type, discipline, and other relevant repository factors.
  • PANGAEA - Data Publisher for Earth and Environmental Science.

Electron Microscopy

  • EMDataBank.org - Unified data resource for 3-dimensional electron microscopy

Energy

Oceanography

Seismology

  • IRIS - IRIS (Incorporated Research Institutions in Seismology) archives seismic data.

Social Sciences

Space Science

  • National Space Science Data Center - NSSDC accepts data from: active archives in the space sciences funded through the Science Missions Directorate, missions in that same directorate, and individual scientists (mission or instrument principal investigators).