Skip to main content
Caltech Library logo

Diversity and inclusion guide: Anti-racism

Welcome

Use this guide to learn about Equity, Diversity, Belonging, and Inclusion (EDBI) initiatives. Currently, most of the resources relate to anti-racism and eugenics. Resources supporting other important initiatives will be added over time.

Have questions or ideas about resources to add to this guide? Contact us below.

From the archives

Grant Venerable

"Book fund honors first black student" (April 1989, page 6)

A CaltechNews article about Grant Venerable, Caltech's first Black graduate, and the establishment of the Grant D. & Naomi T. Venerable Memorial Book Fund. From Caltech CampusPubs.

Lee F. Browne

Oral History Interview with Lee F. Browne (1999)

An Oral History Interview with Lee F. Browne, Lecturer in Education, emeritus who served as Director of Secondary School Relations and Special Student Programs at Caltech from 1970 until 1990. From the Archives' Caltech Oral Histories Collection.

Black Students Union of Caltech 1975 members

Black Students Union of Caltech from The Big T student yearbook (1975, PDF page 59)

An article about the Black Students Union of Caltech in the 1975 Big T student yearbook. From Caltech CampusPubs.

Edray Goins

"The History of Caltech's Underrepresented Students" by Edray Goins

Edray Goins (BSc Mathematics and Physics, 1994) attended Caltech from 1990 to 1994, and was highly involved with and celebrated for his work in supporting Caltech's Black and minority communities. He later received his PhD in Mathematics from Stanford, and returned to Caltech to teach as a postdoc. His SURF project, "The History of Caltech's Underrepresented Students", outlines prominent Black figures at Caltech from 1928 to 1993. Goins currently works as a Mathematics professor at Pomona College.

Books & ebooks

Loading ...
Stay tuned for information on new ebook platform, Overdrive, coming soon!

Read popular ebooks in OverDrive 

In response to recent events and requests for EDBI-related materials, we are trialing a new ebook platform, OverDrive.

We have purchased titles related to diversity in higher education/science/technology, anti-racism, eugenics, and more.

To learn more, visit our OverDrive page on our ebook guide.

Reading lists

Decolonising Science Reading List

Chanda Prescod-Weinstein, PhD, professor of physics, core faculty member, Women's Studies Program, University of New Hampshire

Decolonise science – time to end another imperial era

Rohan Deb Roy, Lecturer in South Asian History, University of Reading - links to many useful resources to learn more.

Decolonizing technology: A reading list

Beatrice Martini, a research fellow at the Stanford Digital Civil Society Lab and the Harvard Kennedy School, exploring the implications of Internet infrastructure design on human rights, and serves in a formal advisory role with the Center for the Cultivation of Technology and OpenArchive.

Beyond the Trend of Decolonizing Science

Union of Concerned Scientists - April 2019

This webinar features a conversation led by Indigenous and Black scholars around what it means to "decolonize science." Using the controversy over the Thirty Meter Telescope and the sacred mountain of Mauna Kea as a case study, speakers share examples of the role of colonialism in science.

Featuring: Chanda Prescod-Weinstein, PhD, professor of physics, core faculty member, Women's Studies Program, University of New Hampshire; Eve Tuck, associate professor of Critical Race and Indigenous Studies, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE), University of Toronto; Iokepa Casumbal-Salazar, PhD, assistant professor, Native American and Indigenous Studies, Center for the Study of Culture, Race, and Ethnicity, Ithaca College; David Uahikea Maile, PhD candidate, instructor Department of American Studies, University of New Mexico.

American Library Association

Libraries Respond: Black Lives Matter 

Webinar Archives - Office for Diversity, and Outreach Services

 

Archives

Dismantling White Supremacy in Archives - An Incomplete List of White Privileges in Archives and Action Items for Dismantling Them by Gracen Brilmyer

Becoming Caltech - A series of presentations from Caltech Archives highlighting sets of archival materials based on themes such as The Cosmopolitan Club and Students of Color and Women at Early Caltech.

 

Academic Libraries and Social Justice Reading List - curated by Melissa Ray
Loading ...

Databases

Use our database subscriptions to learn more about Black and Indigenous history in America, philosophy, and race and science. For example:

Learn about Indigenous Philosophy of the Americas and African-American Philosophy in PhilPapers

Explore SagePub's Structural Racism and Police Violence pathfinder

Contact us

Not finding what you need?

DocuServe - Borrow from another library.

Suggest a purchase - Suggest an item to add to the collection.

 

Get help

Ask a Librarian - We're here to help online, in person, or over the phone during our open hours.

Email library@caltech.edu | Text 626-587-4833 | Phone 626-395-3404

 

Guide authors 

Kristin Briney

Biology & Biological Engineering Librarian

Social Sciences Librarian

Research Services, Caltech Library

Melissa Johnson

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Research Services, Caltech Library

Melissa Ray

Senior Library Support

Digital Repository & Publishing Services

Research Services, Caltech Library

Mariella Soprano

Senior Archivist

Caltech Archives