Skip to main content
Caltech Library logo

Geological & Planetary Sciences: Geology
Library News

Welcome to Geological & Planetary Sciences Library services at Caltech!

Large-Scale Map Room Printer/Scanner - Important Information

The Library has determined that the map printer (HP800ps) and scanner (HP815mpf) in the Geology Library Map Room is nearing its end of life, and we need to limit wear and tear on this equipment to ensure its use for map printing only. We cannot accommodate poster printing in the Geology Library effective immediately.

Graphic Resources provides poster-printing service for Caltech users.  Additional information about their services are available on their website.

Please limit the usage of the scanner (HP815mpf) to research, teaching, and assignments only.

Please direct any questions about the Library’s printing policies to the general library inbox (library@caltech.edu).

Geological Society of London Special Publications Archive

We now have access to the Lyell Collection of the Geological Society of London Special Publications archive.

Included in this archive are volumes 1-400, covering years from 1964 to 2014.

Springer Earth and Environmental Sciences E-Book Package, 2018

We have added our 2018 Springer Earth and Environmental Science Package to our catalog.

To see a list of titles, please click on this link.

New Acquisitions - Print & Ebooks

Electronic books, designated by [Ebook], may be accessed directly by clicking on the title.

Other titles are available in print [Print copy] in the Geology Library (unless otherwise noted in the catalog). The title links to the library catalog record showing call number and availability.

New Services

New map showing Geology Thesis Map and Data Project:

Our new map shows the coordinates of content in CaltechDATA associated with theses from the Geological and Planetary Science Division at Caltech. Data included from historic theses are supplemental pocket contents such as maps and drawings. Please visit http://maps.library.caltech.edu to see the results.

 

Dimensions searchable citation database now available:

Dimensions is a new searchable citation database of publicationsgrantspatents and clinical trials, the relationships between them, and a variety of analytical views. It provides both keyword search and the ability to filter by a variety of bibliographic attributes.

Dimensions is available in two versions: a more limited, free, public version consisting of the publications database; and the full version, Dimensions Plus, which is restricted to authenticated users. The full version of Dimensions is accessible by the Caltech community by accessing the URL from any IP address in the caltech.edu domain; by accessing the URL through the Caltech VPN service; or by logging in using Caltech Access credentials. Both the free version and Dimensions Plus are at the URL https://app.dimensions.ai/.

Dimensions Plus provides access to the grants, patents and clinical trials databases and associated filters and analytical views. Grant information is called from a wide range of international sources and is linked to associated publications and patents. A variety of queries and analytical views of grant information is available. For example, a list of grants awarded to Caltech PIs active in 2018.

Dimensions Plus also includes an API that can be used to develop custom reports to supplement the filters and analytical views that are provided.

For more information contact us or check out this guide

Kopernio now available:

Kopernio is a browser plugin developed by Clarivate, the parent company of Web of Science. It works behind the scenes in your browser to get you the best PDF copy of articles that you're looking for. Kopernio can be used both on or off campus and uses existing authentication infrastructure to leverage library subscriptions. The plug in stores your IMSS credentials on your local machine and employs them when you're doing a literature search. Kopernio has a detailed page that describes their data principles.

For more information on Kopernio, please visit our LibGuide on Kopernio.

 

Library Classes Schedule

Click here to see our Winter 2019 Library Classes schedule.

 

 

 

 

 

Newest Papers in Digital Repository from GPS Authors

Head of Research Services

Gail Clement's picture
Gail Clement
Contact:
Sherman Fairchild Library, 3rd floor
626-395-1203

Library Assistant

Tony Diaz's picture
Tony Diaz
Contact:
201 N. Mudd
x6699