Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Caltech Library logo

Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS): Welcome

Learn about HSS-specific library resources, including librarians, collections, archives, databases, research and data support, and more.

On this page

Social Sciences Librarian

What's new? September 2020

CaltechAUTHORS Makes J. Morgan Kousser's The Shaping of Southern Politics Available to All

Since the Caltech Library digitized J. Morgan Kousser’s 1974 book The Shaping of Southern Politics: Suffrage Restriction and the Establishment of the One-Party South, 1880-1910 and made it available via CaltechAUTHORS in late July, it has already been downloaded over thirty times. What makes this newly digitized book, which had yet to be publicly announced and was originally published almost 50 years ago, so popular? Find out more.

Library Orientation for HSS - Slides now available

Caltech Librarians will host an overview of Library services for the HSS Division on Thursday, September 24th from 3-4pm. This session will cover general services including remote access to materials, limited access to physical collections, and DocuServe (Interlibrary Loan). It will also review HSS-specific resources available at Caltech. All graduate students, postdocs, faculty, instructors, and staff are welcome to attend. Please email library@caltech.edu for the Zoom link and password.

Access to streaming films

Are you showing any films or TV shows in your Fall courses? We’ve renewed our subscription to Swank, a streaming film platform that enables you to legally stream popular and academic films in your courses. Share your title list with us, and we’ll explore ways the library can provide access through Swank (limited number of licenses remaining) or other avenues on your behalf.

New trial image database - Artstor

Need images from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education, research, and noncommercial scholarly activity? Check out Artstor, composed of over 2.5 million images (and growing) across disciplines, including Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science. Access to this trial resource expires on December 31, 2020. Please let us know what you think of Artstor: library@caltech.edu

Library Diversity and Inclusion Guide: Anti-Racist Resources

As part of Caltech's Equity, Diversity, Belonging, and Inclusion (EDBI) initiatives, the Library has put together a collection of resources relating to anti-racism and the Black Lives Matter movement. See the EDBI guide for a list of titles.

Selected list of recent purchases
New trial image database, Artstor

We have access to over 300 million, high-quality, rights-free images through Artstor until December 31, 2020. Explore this rich resource for beautiful and educational images to add to your classes, presentations, papers, and any other noncommercial scholarly activity.

Updated ACLS ebooks

The American Council of Learned Societies Humanities E-Book Collection (ACLS HEB) contains new titles this month. Check out the ACLS collection through our catalog or the ACLS site.

ACLS HEB is a digital collection of over 5,500 core humanities and social science titles from over 120 publishers. Books in the collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of ACLS.

New Cambridge ebooks

Fifty new Humanities and Social Sciences ebooks from Cambridge University Press have been added to the Library collection. A full list of added titles can be browsed here.

COVID-19 Experiences Collection

The Caltech Archives is collecting the experiences of members of the Caltech community on campus and at home and invites you to contribute stories, photographs, videos, and other documents of your experience. Participants can choose whether their contributions are publicly visible on the web or available to researchers only by request.

Library services during COVID-19 campus closure

Please check the Library website and our brief Off-Campus Access Guide for updated information.

Help & support

Not finding what you need?

DocuServe - Borrow from another library.

Suggest a purchase - Suggest an item to add to the collection.

 

Delivery

RUSH Document Delivery - Use our rapid delivery service for electronic articles that we don't have immediate access to. First 10 free!

Campus Delivery - We can deliver physical items to faculty, post-doc, and graduate student offices upon request.

 

Get help

Ask a Librarian - We're here to help with research, writing, data, and your other information needs during our open hours.

Email library@caltech.edu | Text 626-587-4833 | Phone 626-395-3404

Copyright Services - Fair use, Creative Commons & more.

Open Access - Make your manuscripts openly accessible.

ORCID - Create a unique researcher identifier.

Research data support - Get help with all things data.

Zotero - Use our supported citation management platform.

Authoring and Publishing Services - Get expert assistance at every step along the way.

Copyright Services - Fair use, Creative Commons & more.

Open Access - Make your manuscripts openly accessible.

Thesis support

Writing assistance

Zotero - Use our supported citation management platform.