May 9, 2021
3MT Recording - For those of you who didn't see the 3 Minute Thesis competition live last month, you can now see it on Caltech's YouTube channel - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL8_xPU5epJdcevOtfNFSZ3cIpIqIa4sUi
Library Services and Spaces - The Library's physical spaces remain closed at this time. If you need to borrow a book please place a hold in TIND and then schedule a pickup time. More information about our available services is on this page - https://libguides.caltech.edu/welcome/COVID-19
New Oral Histories - The Archives has recently released 6 new oral histories. You can browse the new additions as well as all available oral histories on this page - https://archives.caltech.edu/collections/oral-histories.html
Advanced Python Programming - May 12, 13 and 14th
May 3, 2021
Citation Linker - If you use citation linker to connect to licensed library resources, please know that it is being deprecated in the next 6 months.
New ebooks - Please browse the list of new titles on the tab above. Many new titles have been added in the last few weeks.
April 26, 2021
New AIP ebooks - The Library has purchased AIP's first collection of ebooks. You can browse the very cross-disciplinary titles on this page - https://libguides.caltech.edu/ebooks/aip
3 Minute Thesis - A big congratulations to Mia de los Reyes for winning this year's 3 Minute Thesis competition! The competition launched a few years ago at Caltech and Mia is the first person from astronomy to win. https://www.library.caltech.edu/three-minute-thesis
Science backfile - If you're looking for older Science (AAAS) issues, you can find them in two places. The Library bought this backfile directly from the AAAS several years ago so you can access all Science issues (1880+) on the AAAS website. Some people also access older Science issues from JSTOR.
Springer backfiles - The Library has not purchased any Springer backfiles except for select Math titles. If you're looking for a Springer journal that was published before 1997, please request it from Docuserve. Springer only sells journal backfiles in packages so it's not possible for us to buy a single title's backfile from this publisher.
April 19, 2021
CaltechDATA - Some of you attended the meeting last week that discussed data practices on campus. The Library hosts a repository called CaltechDATA that can meet some research needs of the campus. For more information about CaltechDATA please see this information:
More information - https://www.library.caltech.edu/caltechdata
CaltechDATA - https://data.caltech.edu/
Tom Morrell is the library’s research data specialist and oversees CaltechDATA. Feel free to contact him directly about your data needs – firstname.lastname@example.org
April 12, 2021
Find EJournal - If you're trying to determine whether the Library subscribes to a particular journal, please use Find EJournal. There's a link to this on the Library website (Journals) or you can use this direct link - https://www.library.caltech.edu/journals . If you're looking for a print journal, they can be found via our catalogue, TIND - https://caltech.tind.io/
New Oxford ebooks - Over the last few weeks I've been buying Oxford ebooks from three series: Oxford Graduate Texts, Oxford Mathematical Monographs and the International Series of Monographs on Physics. Oxford has only digitized these series back to ~2002 so there are older titles that are not yet available electronically. All of the new ebooks from Oxford are listed on my ebook page - https://libguides.caltech.edu/pma/ebooks
3 Minute Thesis competition - The Library had a record number of entries for this year's 3MT competition. To watch the final event on April 19, register at this site - https://www.library.caltech.edu/three-minute-thesis
March 29, 2021
Spring term course reserves and texts - If you're teaching or TAing a class this term and need help finding ebooks, please be in touch. I've bought a lot of JSTOR, Cambridge and Oxford ebooks lately for classes this term.
TechLab update - The Library's TechLab used to be in the Sherman Fairchild Library on the first floor. The lab has moved to the main floor of Millikan. The TechLab remains open for mediated service. Please see their website if you'd like something printed - https://www.library.caltech.edu/resources/techlab
O'Reilly ebooks - We have thousands! Please use this proxied link to access the O'Reilly / Safari ebook platform - https://go.oreilly.com/caltech
March 22, 2021
3 Minute Thesis - The deadline for entries is tomorrow! For more information about this event and to register to attend the online event on April 19 see this page - https://www.library.caltech.edu/three-minute-thesis
Caltech Oral History - Professor Marshall Cohen. The Archives has released the oral history of emeritus Professor of Astronomy, Marshall Cohen. Please use this link to read this oral history - http://resolver.caltech.edu/CaltechOH:OH_Cohen_M
Upcoming library classes:
Advanced Git Workshop, March 23, 25
Introduction to Python Programming, March 26
March 15, 2021
New PMA ebooks - Please visit this new page I've created to browse newly purchased ebooks. I'll keep updating it as titles get acquired. https://libguides.caltech.edu/pma/ebooks
New AAS ebooks - I've also created a separate guide that lists the new American Astronomical Society ebooks. These were heavily used in 2020 and new titles are continually being added to the package. The guide will include titles as they roll into the collection during 2021.
Library Newsletter - The Library now publishes a newsletter that you can receive right in your email inbox. To sign up for this newsletter, visit this page - https://www.library.caltech.edu/about/newsletter
Upcoming Library Classes:
You and Your Thesis - March 17
Advanced Shell Workshop - March 22, 24
Advanced Git Workshop, March 23, 25
Introduction to Python Programming, March 26
Introduction to Databases and SQL, April 6-9
March 1, 2021
Spring classes - If you're teaching this spring, please add your textbooks / course materials to Canvas before March 5.
February 22, 2021
Contemporary Mathematics 2020 - The Library has just bought 2020 volumes of Contemporary Mathematics from the AMS. The ebooks haven't been catalogued yet but you can use this proxied link to browse the titles in the series.
Google Scholar, Caltech Connect and Library link settings - Please see this guide on how to configure Google Scholar to ensure you have access to the resources the Library licenses and subscribes to.
Library Services available during COVID - https://libguides.caltech.edu/welcome/COVID-19
Library class - Getting Started with LaTeX using Overleaf - February 24
February 16, 2021
New ebooks - Please see the list to the right for an up to date list of recently acquired ebooks. Most are hosted on JSTOR and come from publishers like Princeton and MIT.
AMS Contemporary Mathematics - The Library has just submitted an order for 2020 Contemporary Mathematics. I'll be in touch when the purchase has been processed and our access has been established.
AAS ebooks 2021 - The Library has just submitted an order for AAS ebooks 2021. When our access has been established I'll let everybody know.
Annual Reviews - The Library subscribes to the Annual Reviews Physical Sciences Collection. We've bought the full backfiles from the titles included in this collection. Please be in touch if you have a question about our subscription.
February 8, 2021
JSTOR ebooks - JSTOR hosts a lot of ebooks from university presses like Princeton, Stanford, MIT, Harvard and the UC. I've purchased a number of JSTOR ebooks for PMA in recent weeks and will post a list with links to them all soon.
February 1, 2021
O'Reilly / Safari ebooks - A reminder that the Library has a subscription to O'Reilly ebooks. Our access is a little bit different because we cannot catalogue individual titles that are available. Instead, you need to login to their database with your IMSS credentials in order to access to find and access their ebooks. https://go.oreilly.com/caltech
Thesis Class - February 16
Zotero Class - February 18
Getting Started with LaTeX Using Overleaf Class - February 24
January 25, 2021
Funder Compliance Support from the Library - The Library offers a number of services around grants to the Caltech campus. CaltechAUTHORS, CaltechDATA, collaborator reports, as well as assistance with ORCID and SciENcv are all things that we provide and can help with.
January 19, 2021
Nexis Uni - Lexis Nexis is now called Nexis Uni and the Library subscribes to this database. This database includes HTML fulltext articles from the NY Times that are loaded daily.
Elsevier journals - In 2020 the Library subscribed to Elsevier's Freedom Collection. This means hugely expanded access to Elsevier journal titles hosted on ScienceDirect. We now have access to all of the physics and math Elsevier journals that were cancelled in 2016 and 2018. Please contact me if you have questions.
January 11, 2021
COVID-19 Services - Please see this guide to review and understand what Library services are available this Winter term.
FundRef - Some paper submission systems require DOIs to be added for funders. To find a DOI for a funder use the FundRef Registry from CrossRef. There can be multiple DOIs for one federally funded grant. For example a DOE grant can have a DOI for the DOE, another one for DOE-HEP and a last one for the DOE Office of Science.
Springer ebooks - The Library has renewed it's license with Springer that allows us to access titles in their 2021 Physics & Astronomy package. These books are not always in our catalogue as quickly as they're published. The fastest way to understand if we have access to a title is to use VPN and visit SpringerLink. Here's a proxied link that's a 2nd option for accessing ebooks from SpringerLink. Once at Springer's site, select Book under Content Type to browse recently published ebooks. The Library has bought Springer's Math & Statistics package through 2021.
December 8, 2020
Winter Textbooks and Reserves - Last week our University Librarian, Kara Whatley, emailed instructors teaching next term with information about textbooks and reserves. That information is also available on this website. If you have questions or need assistance please email email@example.com
ebook Platforms - A reminder that Library-acquired ebooks are not always hosted on publisher 'bookstore' websites. For instance, our Springer ebooks are available on SpringerLink.com and not springer.com. The same is true for Cambridge and the American Mathematical Society. All of these publishers sell ebooks individually to people from separate websites than the one that host library ebooks.
O'Reilly ebooks - The Library has access to 1000s of O'Reilly ebooks. You'll need your Access credentials to login on their site. More information about this program and the ebooks is available from this Library FAQ - https://libanswers.caltech.edu/faq/262197
November 30, 2020
New York Times - I've had a few questions recently about whether the Library has a site license for the NY Times. We don't but you can search for specific articles in NexisUni . This database is updated daily with new content.
November 23, 2020
EMS ebooks - In June the library bought a package of European Mathematical Society ebooks that includes many series we have in our print collections. Please use this proxied link to browse the available titles on the EMS platform - https://clsproxy.library.caltech.edu/login?qurl=https://www.ems-ph.org/books/book_series.php . There are over 200 ebooks available.
Course reserves for winter - Please use the course reserve links in Canvas to specify what you'd like on reserve for winter term.
Off Campus Access - Please see this information on this page to understand the various options for accessing our collections from off campus. https://www.library.caltech.edu/remoteaccess
Thesis Class - The next thesis class takes place November 9 via Zoom. For more information and to register please use this link .
Joy Painter Physics, Math & Astronomy Librarian, firstname.lastname@example.org