Skip to main content
Caltech Library logo

Welcome to Caltech Library: Getting started

New to Caltech? Learn about all the library resources, services, and staff available to you.

Welcome to Caltech!

Hello new students, faculty, post-docs, staff, and affiliates! The Library is happy to partner with you to help you succeed during your time at Caltech.

Use this guide to learn more about:

Some services have changed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. See our Message from the University Librarian for more information, and our page on Off-Campus Access to Library Resources.

Welcome, new faculty! Below are the library services uniquely pertinent to you. Please see the rest of the guide for information about our other services and resources.

Welcome, new post-doctoral scholars! Below are the library services uniquely pertinent to you. Please see the rest of the guide for information about our other services and resources.

Welcome, new graduate students! Below are the library services uniquely pertinent to you. Please see the rest of the guide for information about our other services and resources.

Welcome, new undergraduates! Below are the library services uniquely pertinent to you. Please see the rest of the guide for information about our other services and resources.

 

Welcome new SFP students!

Since SFP programs are being conducted virtually this year, please ensure you have an access.caltech account in order to use library resources.

Welcome, new staff! Below are the library services uniquely pertinent to you. Please see the rest of the guide for information about our other services and resources.

Welcome new affiliates! See below for information about borrowing physical and electronic materials, visiting the library, scan services and more.

Library collections & access

Access journals, articles, databases, books, textbooks, media, and rare archival items through our library and libraries globally.

 

Catalog  Search for items available at the library.

Course Reserves  Borrow course materials like textbooks. 

Archives  Discover our unique special collections.

Borrowing  Loan periods, limits, holds, renewals, and more.

DocuServe  Borrow items from other libraries.

Off-campus access  Access the library wherever you are.

Suggest a purchase  Suggest an item for the collection.

eBooks - Learn about our useful ebook packages.

Journals - View our list of over 100,000 journals.

Databases - View the full A-Z list and narrow by subject area.


Sample databases:

 

Research & data

We can help you organize, manage, process, visualize, store, preserve, publish, and share your data and research.

 

Caltech Research Online  Explore Caltech research output.

Research data support  Get help with all things data.

CaltechDATA​  Data repository for Caltech researchers.

Patents and trademarks  Use patent search resources.

ORCID  Create a unique researcher identifier.

Technology & printing

Interested in 3D printing, virtual reality, projectors, using Python or R, or simply making copies? You're in the right place.

 

Techlab  Use one of our 17 3D printers, Arduino boards, or Raspberry Pi's.

Borrow technology  Laptops, Kindles, cameras, adapters, Blu-ray players, webcams, microphones, projectors, calculators, and more.

Computers and software  Windows/Mac, virtual reality, programming, video editing, and more.

Printing and scanning  Learn about print/scan/copy cost and policies.

Writing & publishing

We can help with publishing, theses, open access, ISBNs, DOIs, Creative Commons, copyright, archiving, author rights & more.

 

Authoring and Publishing Services  Get expert assistance at every step along the way.

Copyright Services  Fair use, Creative Commons & more.

Open Access  Make your manuscripts openly accessible.

CaltechAUTHORS  Repository of 90,000 Caltech-authored papers.

CaltechTHESIS  Check out our student thesis repository.

Overleaf  Register your free account for LaTeX authoring.

Zotero  Use our supported citation management platform.

Study spaces & locations

Study, research, learn, relax, collaborate, eat, drink, and create at one of our beautiful campus locations. 

 

Study rooms  Reserve a room and learn about its features. 

Study areas  Choose between Group, Quiet, and Silent.

Hours, access, and locations  Visit us during open hours with your Caltech ID.

Floorplans  Use maps to find what you need at each library.

undefined

Sherman Fairchild Library (Main library)

undefined

Geology Library (Geology/Planetary Sciences/Maps)

Geology location, hours, collections, features, access

Reference & instruction

Librarians can help you find sources, publish, cite, archive, manage data, use databases, and much more.

 

Schedule a consultation  Receive one-on-one assistance with your division's librarian.

Join our classes  View class descriptions and schedule:

Help & support

Ask a Librarian - We're here to help with research, writing, data, and your other information needs online, in person, or over the phone during our open hours.

Email library@caltech.edu | Text 626-587-4833 | Phone 626-395-3405