Skip to main content
Caltech Library logo

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New Trial
The ASMD was created in 2007 and is the online version of the print Aerospace Structural Metals Handbook (ASMH) that was created by NASA and the Air Force. It includes alloys and data curves of materials used in the aerospace industry. The database is interactive and continuously updated.
New
AAS ebooks are accessible via the IOP platform and cover astronomy and astrophysics subjects, including exoplanets and gamma ray bursts. You're able to download each book as a PDF from the IOP site.
New Popular
Bergey's provides a complete and authoritative description of bacterial and archaeal diversity. The online edition provides descriptions of the taxonomy, systematics, ecology, physiology and other biological properties of all described prokaryotic taxa.
New Popular
BioCyc is a collection of 14560 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for exploring them. Key aspects of BioCyc data include quality data curated from tens of thousands of publications, including curated databases for E. coli, B. subtilis, H. sapiens, and S. cerevisiae; computationally predicted metabolic pathways and operons; and data integrated from other databases including gene essentiality, regulatory networks, protein features, and GO annotations.
Please note that in order to use BioCyc beyond the limited free access amount, you must create an account on the BioCyc website and login to it while accessing BioCyc on the Caltech network. If you do not create an account and log in, you will be denied access after using up the free access amount.
Links: Introduction to BioCyc | Briefings in Bioinformatics article
New
BioModels Database is a repository of mathematical models representing biological systems. It currently hosts a range of models describing processes like signaling, protein-drug interaction interactions, metabolic pathways, epidemic models, and many more. The models that BioModels hosts are usually described in peer-reviewed scientific literature. These models are manually curated and semantically enriched with cross-references to external data resources (such as publications, databases of compounds and pathways, ontologies, etc.).
New
Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
New
An interdisciplinary journal providing a source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. The Library has access to Cold Spring Harbor Protocols 2006+.
New
Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences, published by Morgan & Claypool, provides access to lectures on research topics in Physiology, Neuroscience, and Cell, Molecular & Developmental Biology. We have access to collections 1-4 (2009-2019).
New
The CRSP US Stock Databases contain daily and monthly market and corporate action data for securities with primary listings on the NYSE, NYSE MKT, NASDAQ, and Arca exchanges and include CRSP broad market indexes. CRSP databases are characterized by their comprehensive corporate action information and highly accurate total return calculations.

The CRSP Index Database product contains five groups of CRSP indexes: CRSP Stock File Indexes, CRSP Cap-Based Portfolios, CRSP Indexes for the S&P 500 Universe, CRSP Treasury and Inflation (CTI) Indexes, and the CRSP Select Treasury Indexes.

Email Prof. Michael Ewens (mewensATcaltech.edu) for information about accessing the data.
New
Collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
Trial
Most comprehensive annotated collection of documents on British history covering the years 500 to 1914 and including around 5,500 primary sources, all selected by leading historians. The sources include treaties, statutes, declarations, government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, orders, acts, sermons, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters, diaries and more accompanied by editorial commentary. The sources cover a wide spectrum of topics, from political and constitutional issues to social, economic, religious as well as cultural history.
New
The Field Guides are written for geological field trips held at GSA conferences and other organizations' meetings and contain illustrations with maps and road logs. The Archive covers volume 1 (1999) to volume 44 (2016).
New
GSA Memoirs are thorough, peer-reviewed treatments of geological science topics. The Archive covers volume 1 (1934) to volume 212 (2015).
New
GSA Special Papers provide current or rapidly evolving subjects. The Archive covers volume 1 (1934) to (2016).
New
Searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. Comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
New Trial Popular
International bibliography on the development and influence of science, from prehistory to the present. Updated on a monthly basis, and includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials. HSTM includes the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and citations from the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
New Trial
This database contains data on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials. It currently contains 1080 materials, 405 properties and 23,450 data curves. The MPMD is continually updated.
New
Access ebooks purchased specifically to support diversity and inclusion, with topics ranging from diversity in science, technology and higher education to eugenics, disability and ableism, and anti-racism.
New
We have access to 400+ ebooks from SPIE published between 1989-2020. The books include monographs, tutorials, briefs and field guides. The subjects included are broad and stretch from biomedicine to telescope optics.
New Trial
Provides over 25,000 films, documentaries and TV shows, and simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...